We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch”
Review of No.5 Cafe & Larder

No.5 Cafe & Larder
Ranked #9 of 104 Restaurants in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Next to Golflands.
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely lunch this week, no wait for the food,
Nice side salad served with filoparcel at no extra cost.
Good service, would recommend!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank TravSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2017

delicious counter food late in the day & an outstanding coffee enjoyed with the pastoral outlook over big trees & a golf course - recommended

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank hatboxtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

We had 2 VEGAN birthdays. Its always difficult as cafes dont like to make vegan cakes so we took our own cake and candles. We had 18 people ordering brunch yet they still charged us $4 per person to cut the cake, add cream and put on a plate with a teaspoon. Now really? I would happily pay $2 each but this came to $72! We all ordered food plus drinks so definitly over $350 came in by us... totally unnecessary and disappointing management decision.
On the up side, great venue, lots of room and sandpit for the kids. Staff who served us were lovely and helpful with the additional 5 children.
Watch for grumpy golfers though ... 4 sat at the end of our long 23 seat table and 1 in particular was most unpleasant when I approached carrying 2 cakes and suggested they might like to swop seats before pandemonium began... he snarkily told me "there are no reserved signs so we can seat where we want". Lesson here for the cafe staff.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Raewyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Food and drinks here is always good.
Staff are friendly.
Bring a hat if you are going to sit outside.
And the gift shop is awesome too.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yehudi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Great food and coffee. Complements to Hannah, one of the wait staff. She was very friendly and we enjoyed her bubbly personality and great service. Would definitely recommend to all!!

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank zsazsalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed No.5 Cafe & Larder also viewed

Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to No.5 Cafe & Larder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing