We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Ash Ridge Wines
from US$38.60
More Info
from US$34.40
More Info
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
49
30
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
30
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine maker wine tour cheese board young wine boutique winery enjoyable wine bike ride tasting experience pizza knowledgeable staff cellar door hawkes bay lauren platter winemaker bottle wines
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

Chose to have a family lunch here as sister in law had enjoyed lunch previously with her family. We all grew up in HB and had many great memories of various vineyards in this area
Lovely setting and very quiet on arrival.
Enjoyed sharing the antipasto platters and pizza.
However two in the group had rose which all 7 of us agreed could have been more chilled. We mentioned this to one of the staff and we were told that is the fridge temp 12 deg
However the beer wasn’t cold enough or the coke.
Perhaps these drinks had not been in the fridge long enough?
We are not normally critical of beverage temperature but for all 7 of us to agree the drinks were warm it would’ve been nice for the staff To have acknowledged this. Rather than justify the fridge being the right temperature and it’s a warm day.
Plenty of service attention for wine tasters but we had to ask for any further service
Plenty of places in Hawkes Bay with lovely wines and more diplomatic service

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank pippaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, Manager at Ash Ridge Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thank you for writing a review, we appreciate the time and effort people put into giving honest reviews about a business.
We honestly do try to show our wines in the best possible light and serve them when at their optimum - after all isn't that what we are here to do. We had this group in for lunch and we managed to serve them promptly. We took the order and served the drinks. It wasn't until we were serving the food a while later that they commented on the wine being warm, nothing was said about the beer. I did informed them that the wine for the glasses comes from our wine fridge that is usually set to 12 degrees, as this is a good temperature to taste the white wines and roses at and have wonderful flavours. We did acknowledge the situation, and unfortunately I didn't offer ice as a solution, but as they had already got through half of the glass before the complaint was offered, we were at a loss of how to rectify the situation. I went to check the fridges and noticed that they were actually set to 10 degrees. The beer fridge is much colder and we generally keep a few bottles of Rose in there for people who order by the bottle. It was a warm day our vineyard thermometers were registering 30 degrees. If wine is ordered by the bottle, we would have been able to keep it in an ice chiller and only pour a small amount at a time would ensure a better way to enjoy chilled Rose on a hot day.

We do apologize that they feel our hospitality wasn't to their satisfaction. We will try much harder in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Really relaxed, laid back vineyard with some great wines. A little busy and chaotic when we first arrived with a hens group but once they left we had the place to ourselves. The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and very casual. Hadn’t been to this vineyard or tried their wines before but really pleased we called in. Well worth including on your Hawke’s Bay wine trail.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank AuntieDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

4 visitors from the UK hosted by 4 from the Hawkes Bay were treated to an enjoyable hour of wine tasting. Good wines, good explanation on each of the wines and excellent service from Phil.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Sonya was absolutely hilarious in her tale of how the estate came to be, enjoying the wine tasting with us, and yes the wines were delicious.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank AW_Hooper_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed the tasting here and, thanks in no small part to Sonya's witty commentary, it was my favorite winery of the six I visited on today's tour in Hawke's Bay. The wine itself was good - purchased the Premium Late Harvest Chardonnay (on the sweeter side but not too much so) & the Reserve Blend (a yummy red). But really, the five-star rating is due to the atmosphere: very relaxed, with owners who seemed equally committed to producing a great product and introducing it to those visiting.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank MaryElizabeth_2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews