We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
vegates
Honolulu, Hawaii

Simple, Clean Budget Motel

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Oct 2019
Frimley Lodge Motel is a simple motor lodge, perfect for a clean, simple place to sleep passing through, but not much more. Pulling in, you feel like you're in a parking lot. Each room opens on the pavement with chairs and ashtrays provided outside. It was surprisingly nice inside, with a big comfy bed, a few chairs, kitchenette for morning hot drinks, a TV, and clean bathroom.

Check-in was a breeze with a friendly desk person. The place was surprisingly quiet being close to the road. Other guests were also respectful, as there was a big construction crew taking up a few rooms. Parking was convenient and included. It's not close to anything walking, so you'll want to drive around. For the price and cleanliness, we were happy staying here.
Date of stay: September 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$236
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $232
  • Expedia.com
    $236
1.9 km from Frimley Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$130
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $124
  • ZenHotels.com
3.2 km from Frimley Lodge Motel
Free parking
Pool
Conference Centre
$194
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $183
  • Expedia.com
    $196
2.3 km from Frimley Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
outside the units
$230
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $220
  • Expedia.com
    $228
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Frimley Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$235
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $198
  • Expedia.com
    $231
0.7 km from Frimley Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$210
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $192
  • Expedia.com
    $207
2.1 km from Frimley Lodge Motel
Roses in Summertime - owner's seasonal pool which guests are welcome to use.
$142
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $134
  • ZenHotels.com
4.8 km from Frimley Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$176
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $176
  • Expedia.com
51.6 km from Frimley Lodge Motel
Free parking
Looking over pool at Motel
$130
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $116
  • Algotels
1.9 km from Frimley Lodge Motel
Free parking
Pool
$1,550
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $1,550
18.7 km from Frimley Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hastings
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
12
20
9
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
12
20
9
1
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2019

We stayed in a double bedroom unit. The lady who was minding the hotel while the owner was away was lovely and voluntarily washed the kitchen pink velvet chairs that were badly in need of it.

There was paint chipped on the window frames; the basin in the bathroom had a warped side and was coming away from the side of the vanity unit. Carpet was a bit stained. The beds were comfortable and clean but the overall impression is our motel room was tired and they need attention. We weren't the only ones staying there who thought this.

Free WIFI was available but we had to obtain a different password for each day from reception. We were not told the WIFI password at check-in.

The hotel sign was never it up at night time so it was difficult to find when returning at night.

Our preference is to try a different motel/hotel option if there is a next time.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank havachatkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2019 via mobile

We didn't get off to the best start as were asked for payment at check in. We had paid months before when we booked. The lady wasn't very friendly and said that she would get the manager to deal with it. We found proof (booking confirmation and transaction details on banking) and went back to the manager, who said straight away that he knew it was paid. It would have been nice if someone had apologised for the confusion and stopped us from stressing!
Anyway, the room had everything we needed, and more. It was lovely.
We did get a bit worried about the 2 different groups that were getting louder with each bottle, but it suddenly stopped and we assumed that the manager spoke to them.
The only real negative was the check-in experience, everything else was great. Thank you.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank clp_0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 November 2018 via mobile

This motel has friendly hosts check in was hassle free, the room is basic,but is clean, comfortable beds, and a excellent shower, all anyone needs, have stayed at more expensive motels that don’t have these three basic requirements.
Room is quiet ,would I stay again,Yes I would.Good value for the tariff charged .

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

To a casual observer, Frimley Lodge might seem quite ordinary and basic.
However, to us it was perfect as our Hawkes Bay base, being in a good location, inexpensive and with everything we needed. Sure, some crockery and glassware were mismatched, and the unit itself wasn't new, but it suited our requirements perfectly. We didn't allow the road noise to detract from our stay either, so all in all, it was a wonderful stay and we would certainly go back.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GrayMcGowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 September 2018

Clean and comfortable room, friendly staff. We had a family unit at the rear of the complex so no issues with road noise. The unit had a full size fridge freezer and electric range for cooking so if you were staying for a longer period and didn't want to eat out/ takeaways then this unit would be ideal for preparing your own meals, and ideal for a family with children.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ayling O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews