We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Gray's Reviews
Timaru, New Zealand

Suited us

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Sept 2018via mobile
To a casual observer, Frimley Lodge might seem quite ordinary and basic.
However, to us it was perfect as our Hawkes Bay base, being in a good location, inexpensive and with everything we needed. Sure, some crockery and glassware were mismatched, and the unit itself wasn't new, but it suited our requirements perfectly. We didn't allow the road noise to detract from our stay either, so all in all, it was a wonderful stay and we would certainly go back.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$236
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $236
1.9 km from Frimley Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$225
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $225
0.7 km from Frimley Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$130
  • Priceline
    $130
  • Expedia.com
    $130
  • Hotels.com
    $130
3.2 km from Frimley Lodge Motel
Free parking
Pool
Queen Studio
$198
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $198
0.5 km from Frimley Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Looking over pool at Motel
$130
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.9 km from Frimley Lodge Motel
Free parking
Pool
outside the units
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $230
  • eDreams
0.7 km from Frimley Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Conference Centre
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $202
  • Priceline
2.3 km from Frimley Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Large room spare bed and spotless
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $225
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Frimley Lodge Motel
Free parking
Spa
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $210
  • Priceline
2.1 km from Frimley Lodge Motel
Roses in Summertime - owner's seasonal pool which guests are welcome to use.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $178
  • Algotels
4.8 km from Frimley Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hastings
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
12
20
9
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
12
20
9
1
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2018

Clean and comfortable room, friendly staff. We had a family unit at the rear of the complex so no issues with road noise. The unit had a full size fridge freezer and electric range for cooking so if you were staying for a longer period and didn't want to eat out/ takeaways then this unit would be ideal for preparing your own meals, and ideal for a family with children.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ayling O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Lovely clean room, comfortable beds, friendly staff, was located in an easy to find location, however as we had a room close to road was very noise as this is on one of the busier roads in hastings parking was difficult to access for our room as it too as quite close to entrance and road other than these two thing was great for a place to sleep. Wi-Fi was not offered

Room tip: Away from main road
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 May 2018

It's ok to spend a night here as the room was clean,tidy with adequate amenities. It is quite an old fashion style of place. The beds were good with electric blankets and I slept well. A good choice to stay at as it is handy to the town.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RhonddaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed in one of the studio rooms.

Pros:
- Universally kind and welcoming interactions with staff, even when I had some issues with arriving early
- Well maintained and decently sized room
- Clean and comfortable

Cons:
- Pay for use wi-fi; not a big deal for me, but most other places in NZ had this free

Other people mentioned the noise, but personally I did not find this any worse than most other places I have stayed in NZ.

Overall, a lovely place, would happily stay again.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank SweetDisarray
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2018

Booked through Booking.com. When we checked in we were given an end room, close to the highway, quite noisy. We were told that this was the cheapest room. Bathroom was small and the room faced west and was very hot. We were there for two nights, pretty uncomfortable, but then again, the hotel is not responsible for the unusually hot weather. Would not mind staying here again, but would probably try some place else.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NZfan02
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews