We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Judy J
Palmerston North, New Zealand

A very friendly motel

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Oct 2016
Very friendly owner and nothing was any trouble for him, very comfortable beds, the room was well set out. First motel that we have had a My Sky box that we could record on which the kids loved. The pool and spa very great, Would definetly recommend this motel.
Date of stay: October 2016
Room Tip: a very friendly place to stay
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Conference Centre
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $195
  • Booking.com
3.6 km from Camberley Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
outside the units
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $229
  • Hotels.com
1.9 km from Camberley Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$130
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $124
  • Hotels.com
    $130
4.6 km from Camberley Court Motel
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $235
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Camberley Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Large room spare bed and spotless
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $219
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from Camberley Court Motel
Free parking
Spa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
11.1 km from Camberley Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Roses in Summertime - owner's seasonal pool which guests are welcome to use.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $139
  • Booking.com
5.3 km from Camberley Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Chill-out time?
$80
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
    3.0 km from Camberley Court Motel
    Free Wifi
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • ZenHotels.com
    17.6 km from Camberley Court Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Queen Studio
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $203
    • Hotels.com
    0.9 km from Camberley Court Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Hastings
    Reviews (27)
    Filter reviews
    27 results
    Traveller rating
    5
    12
    5
    2
    3
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    5
    12
    5
    2
    3
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    9 - 14 of 27 reviews
    Reviewed 6 June 2016

    We stayed for a couple of nights and are pleased with the experience. It wasn't the biggest motel room we stayed in, or had luxurious amenities, but it's what we asked and paid for. Paul, the new owner, is really nice and friendly. He provided us with extra wifi access. Best part of the deal was that our Golden Retriever was welcomed! So if you are looking for a pet-friendly value for money accommodation, Camberley Motel is it!

    Date of stay: June 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank SW123L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 22 February 2016

    Weave stopped off in many out dated motels, good value for money, they all had good to excellent beds, this unit was made in around1970, it sagged Bradley and by the type of legs on it and upholstery it's well and truely past it use by date.
    The motel was clean but had no sink of any kind but that was ok.

    Truckies use this so the trucks startup early and we are on a busy road and an intersection
    If traffic noise is a problem then don't come here.

    The host was very friendly.
    The door can't be shut without locking it,so when someone goes out the door will open and one can be seen in bed, so better wear pjs.

    Good for a night.

    Date of stay: January 2016
    1  Thank Walkaboutchick
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 26 January 2016

    Comfortable and very welcoming by owners. We had the family room which was very spacious and clean, had everything that we could possibly need. The kids loved the pool which was always spotless, came in handy for those hot balmy evenings! Yes things could be updated but I think the price reflects that. Would love to thank the fabulous owners for going well above & beyond making our family holiday the best ever!! Would definitely come back again. Thanks Guys :)

    Date of stay: January 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Kane L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 4 July 2015

    Upon arrival I noted the very basic interior of the motel but felt it clean enough and we were tired having driven from the far North. The interior was locked into the ugliest of 1970's decor, none of that , though disappointing, would have mattered were we looked after. Where to start, the utensils provided were greasy and dirty, the television remote had flat batteries which had been flattened, which we have since learned is way to try and extend their life, it did not work. The plugs were no-where near where they were needed to use jugs and toasters you had to unplug an appliance to plug something else in. in the morning we had no hot water for a shower, we were unable raise anyone in the office before 9am. Upon telling the owner we had no hot water he very abruptly informed me that "we have truck drivers staying in this unit all the time they have never complained" he then stuck his hand under the shower which was gushing out icy water, and moved the
    temperature control around until there was a trickle of tepid water and informed us our problem was pressure related, my Husband an Electrician told him it was not it was a faulty thermostat, he became loud and abusive telling my husband he knew nothing as he was not a plumber and should " use his ears and eyes and shut his Gob" with that we refused to have any further discussion with him,packed up and left, Un- showered. I intend to complain to the motel association, we have never met such an insult to NZ hospitality, Basil Faulty has nothing on him. We have travelled the world and never been insulted in such a manner before.

    Date of stay: July 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    6  Thank JudithJane47
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 30 April 2015

    Chose this motel because of its proximity to the hospital (just down the road in the car, less than ten minute's walk) and the pool. Good points - single level, so no noisy neighbours upstairs/downstairs, spacious for the price (in that the unit had a separate bedroom plus a bed in the main area), owners pleasant, pool sparkling and clean (my daughter went for a dip even though it was freezing), bed quite comfortable, a good standard of cleanliness. On the not so good side, a lack of lighting means it is hard to spot at night despite a very wide street frontage, there was no headboard so the wall behind the pillows looked dirty and uninviting, curtains didn't quite cover the windows so it wasn't too dark, the heating was a bit smelly and the control was part hanging off the wall, the shower did not have good pressure (but shower box was comparatively spacious!), decor is dated and I personally found it a bit depressing. My daughter was disappointed with the sad swing set and trampoline that has seen better days - not really a playground - but there is lots of space out front for kids to play games etc (young ones need to be watched because of the proximity of the road). I know how hard it is to keep up a motel, coming from a motel-owning family, and I can see that the owners do their best with what is an old-style motel - so if modernity and coffee plungers is your thing this place won't be for you, but if you want a friendly homely no-frills but reasonably comfortable motel (with a nice pool for the summer!) this could fit the bill.

    Date of stay: April 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Angela S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews