We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
phelv
Hawke's Bay Region, New Zealand

cheap and cheerful

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Jan 2016
stayed a night to be close to the hospital which is just across the road. as someone else has said its a bit dated but clean.and the light was an issue in the top unit. but it has everything you need and being so close to the hospital is brilliant. very comfy bed too. didnt use the pool but it looked clean. would stay again its a good price for the location.
Date of stay: January 2016
Room Tip: a downstairs unit if you need a dark room.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$236
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $236
  • Hotels.com
    $232
  • Priceline
    $236
2.2 km from Elmore Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$130
  • Priceline
    $130
  • Expedia.com
    $130
  • Hotels.com
    $130
3.7 km from Elmore Lodge Motel
Free parking
Pool
Conference Centre
$194
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $218
  • Priceline
    $215
  • Hotels.com
    $194
2.8 km from Elmore Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$225
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $225
  • Agoda.com
    $194
  • Hotels.com
    $221
0.2 km from Elmore Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
outside the units
$230
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $230
  • Agoda.com
    $206
  • Hotels.com
    $210
1.1 km from Elmore Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Large room spare bed and spotless
$225
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $225
  • Hotels.com
    $225
  • Priceline
    $225
0.4 km from Elmore Lodge Motel
Free parking
Spa
$210
  • Expedia.com
    $210
  • Priceline
    $210
  • Hotels.com
    $209
2.4 km from Elmore Lodge Motel
$176
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $176
  • eDreams
    $176
  • Expedia.com
51.3 km from Elmore Lodge Motel
Free parking
Looking over pool at Motel
$130
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $118
  • Agoda.com
    $115
  • Expedia.com
    $130
2.2 km from Elmore Lodge Motel
Free parking
Pool
$1,550
  • Priceline
    $1,550
  • Vio.com
    $1,550
  • eDreams
    $1,550
18.2 km from Elmore Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hastings
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
9
7
8
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
9
7
8
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Rooms are a good size and both room and bathroom are clean and tidy. The room is dated but for $120 a night that is not and issue. The hosts are helpful and friendly.

The only complaint would be that the rooms upstairs do not get dark because of the lights shining through the top of the arched roof. This was a little frustrating.

Room tip: Get a room on the ground floor so your room isn't too light for a good quality sleep.
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Trailertroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 June 2015

Couldn't ask for nicer more caring hosts. Made my stay memorable. Great location, in town, and opposite the hospital. Best place to stay for hospital visits. Lovely garden location, quiet. Had a great pool which I didnt use, but wonderful for families as units were very spacious

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayeManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 March 2015

Bruce & Jan
Fantastic friendly service. I can't thank you enough for going out of your way to help me with my crisis. I loved the funky upstairs room you provided for me. Clean, comfortable, good value for money and well located. Thank you.

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 December 2014

Fantastic hosts. Jan and Bruce really go out of their way to help and offer local knowledge. Nothing is too much trouble. Lovely people. The actual motel is very dated and tired. The unit had everything we needed though and the swimming pool was fantastic. Probably wouldn't stay here again due to the actual unit, but the hosts were amazing.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gissygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 September 2014

I spent a week at the Elmore Lodge Motel with a secondary school netball team while we attended the LNISS tournament. This Motel although dated, is a great place for a team. It is roomy, has a pool for hot n colds and Jan and Bruce are super obliging - even letting us use the large commercial drier for our laundry. They both took a personal interest in the teams results and Jan even came and watched a game! It is handy to town, supermarkets etc and has enough parking to leave a trailer in. I would happily stay again with a team.

Room tip: Upstairs rooms are bigger -we had 3 & 4 girls to a room.
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeanette161
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews