We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Torview72
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand

Very dated hotel desperately in need of an overhaul!

Review of Angus Inn Hotel
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Jan 2019
Receptionist was friendly and welcoming. This was the only hotel i could get inn Hastings due to multiple events in the area. Hotel felt very old and tired as i made my way to the room. I had to take a bunk room with single beds and bunk beds. Room smelled musty and tired. The beds were decrepit and worn out with thin ailing mattresses. The TV was old and had no remote. The bathroom was old and worn and the toilet lid only had one hinge attached. Overall i would avoid this hotel if there are other options in Hastings.
Date of stay: January 2019
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$236
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $236
  • Hotels.com
    $232
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Angus Inn Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$130
  • Tripadvisor
    $130
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $130
2.0 km from Angus Inn Hotel
Free parking
Pool
outside the units
Booking.com
$230
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $230
  • Hotels.com
    $224
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Angus Inn Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Conference Centre
Booking.com
$186
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $190
  • Agoda.com
    $183
  • Hotels.com
    $208
2.1 km from Angus Inn Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$210
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $210
  • Hotels.com
    $210
0.6 km from Angus Inn Hotel
Large room spare bed and spotless
Booking.com
$235
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $235
  • Expedia.com
    $235
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Angus Inn Hotel
Free parking
Spa
Booking.com
$235
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $225
  • Agoda.com
    $204
  • Hotels.com
    $210
2.3 km from Angus Inn Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Looking over pool at Motel
Booking.com
$120
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $116
  • Agoda.com
    $107
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Angus Inn Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
9.3 km from Angus Inn Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
18.9 km from Angus Inn Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hastings
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
8
12
13
11
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
8
12
13
11
25
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2018

Housekeeping staff very helpful, friendly reception staff Trackside room provided relaxing outlook. Maintainence seems to have been neglected,eg, leaky shower.insecure ,electrical outlets The hotel is well overdue a facelift. Highlight of hotel is location to CBD .

Room tip: Trackside room gives closer access to vehicle.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank marienormile
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Pleasure for horse of the year. had booked at the apple inn for us 2 elderly and my daughter and son with a unit for 4 people 1 queen and a partition and another double when we arrived at apple in evening was told no room as had to take 52 fruit pickers but had booked us in to Angus and we would get $41 dollars a night refund. Went there and were given 1 med. room with 4 beds in it no sink no china no tabl or chair and 1 light working. could not see my ptnr and i (84 and 75)) managing wih our daughter and son in law. Asked if anything else and they said no was full pickers. When rest family arrved next day (4 them)))) grandson spke to manager and he found a room for my daughter.We hated all the rooms felt grubby and shabby. We had paid $725 in advance for 4 that included My daughter for 2 people for 5 nites and 2 for 5.to apple in and my daughter paid $224 for her room at Angus.A total of $949. When we left was no manager for refund said wouldd be paid to our acc. that was on 13th march and after numerous e mails still no refund. when we left we went on to stay at numerous motels and never paid anything like that for superior accomadation. This inn is just pack as many fruit pickers in as you can most from overseas and doent matter if you woken at 6am every morning with the shuttles leaving No No No to Angus and apple both with same manager very rude but pleasnt first time we spoke personally and might add only time we spoke to him rest has been e mails.

Room tip: keep away room was sunny sth side
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank baab808
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 June 2018

We stayed at the Angus Inn over the long weekend. We walked in & it was like WOW. Speckled textured ceiling, bright orange bathroom counter and dim lighting but OK we thought. The lighting never got any better in fact it got worse when one light bulb blew. I was not able to read as lighting so poor. There was no WiFi at all & SKY consisted of 3 channels - 2 sports channels & 1 movie channel. So my weekend consisted of struggling to see the print of the books I had bought to read, watching reruns of programs I had seen at home. There was a microwave in the room which was great but there were no utensils to eat our food that we had prepared - we had to go and ask reception if we were able to have some spoons & bowls for breakfast. The carpet was hard to determine if clean or not as was so stained. The bar facilities were adequate but we were kicked out at 1030 pm as the barman had to be at work early the next day - not satisfactory when we were with a car club and meeting and mingling at the bar is part of the social side of things.
Overall a big disappointment

Room tip: If you dont want WiFi or SKY and like very dated room this may be for you - especially if you are on a budget
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We read some poor reviews after we booked and were worried about what we might find. It was totally the opposite. It was quiet with friedndly staff. It is a little tured but bathroom was very clean and roomy. The meals were plain but very adequate. There were lots if safety catches on windows but we felt very safe in this area Lovely pool.

Room tip: Ask for upgrade if they are not busy. Room away from carpark looking at garden
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank pam350
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

This hotel is priced under $100 per night

There are other hotels nearby advertising $60 a night. This end of town seems cheaper and they all seem to be targeting the day laborer or fruit picker and truck driver market.

Remember:You get what you pay for. If you want to be more comfortable, try the other end of town.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank BlueDanubeHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews