We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful evening overlooking Harbour.”

Russell Bar & Bistro
Ranked #11 of 30 Restaurants in Russell
Cuisines: New Zealand
Restaurant details
Reviewed 27 March 2022

Great spot for a meal sitting looking out for you and wharf . Service was great. The food was a mixture. My scallops were overcooked but the desert I ordered was divine. Be sure to have the chocolate desert, can’t remember the name, but it was amazing. I would definitely try the scallops and go again when we are in Russell next time. Good service is hard to find very much appreciated.

Date of visit: March 2022
Thank Eileen and Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2020

Nice place to relax and have a snack, a cold drink or a glass of wine. We enjoyed it a couple of times.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank Hans750
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2019 via mobile

We had a group of five and enjoyed some basic pub food that was enjoyed by everyone.
Sitting out on the balcony enjoying the sunset and watching the world go by.
Great bit of fishing history inside so well worth the visit

Date of visit: December 2019
2  Thank kruuza
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 December 2019

It was a lovely November evening, so we decided to visit the Swordfish Club, on the first floor of this building - when you go to the bar, you sign up for free temporary membership of the club. Dining on the balcony eating fresh fish & chips and drinking the local beer was just what we wanted. A beautiful view of the bay, and such a relaxing evening.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank CalellaDePalafrugell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2019

Pleasant tree filtered views across the bay to Paihia, nice atmosphere to perch for a meal or drinks. Had a lemon and pepper squid entree, was OK, but not prepared on site. Both had slow cooked boneless rib steak, a good serve, most enjoyable comfort food. A good evening meal, good service and very friendly staff.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank BryanCll
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Russell Bar & Bistro also viewed

 
Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Russell Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of in . If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.