We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Happy Days
Warkworth, New Zealand

A Perfect Stay!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 May 2024
A beautiful setting and a splendid stay all around. The rooms are spacious (we had a balcony room overlooking the harbour), well fitted, with everything needed for a couple of nights stay. The room was uncluttered, with comfy chairs, good quality linens and clean. Perfect.
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: The weather changes all the time - take for warm as well as cold.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hananui Lodge, located right on Russell's waterfront
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double Bedroom
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
A special place to unwind in the transquil atmosphere
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
0.2 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
    0.9 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Ounuwhao Harding House
    • Vio.com
    0.8 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • eDreams
    • Lol.travel
    • Vio.com
    0.5 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Algotels
    1.0 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    The bedroom in the Pacifica Suite.
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    • Booking.com
    1.5 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Russell
    Reviews (1,672)
    Filter reviews
    1,672 results
    Traveller rating
    1,044
    414
    129
    43
    42
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    1,044
    414
    129
    43
    42
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews lamb shoulder waterfront room fish and chips old world charm new zealand lovely location marlborough history paihia hapuka bay mains bungalow ferry nz deck sunset
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    2 - 7 of 1,672 reviews
    Reviewed 7 April 2024

    We stayed here on our 5 week tour of New Zealand in February. The historic heritage hotel lived up to expectations with comfortable accommodation, first class food and friendly efficient service. The free WiFi was invaluable. We had everything that we needed for our 2 nights stay.

    Date of stay: February 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Squawk66
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 14 March 2024 via mobile

    We went for an evening meal at this renowned hotel. The food was good and reasonably priced. The mains and deserts were particularly good. The wine was good value for money.
    What was exceptional was the ambience and setting. This helped elevate the experience and led me to write a review. In addition to this., we were also super impressed with the service received. The staff were engaging, polite and efficient. The combination of all these factors ensured that a memorable evening was had.

    Date of stay: March 2024
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Dave E
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 1 February 2024 via mobile

    Wonderfully located hotel in historic Russell. The room was nicely furnished, king bed with a terrace. Great artwork throughout the establishment, which has a restaurant bar. Breakfast was included in our reservation with a La carte menu. We loved our time here.

    Room tip: The sea viewing rooms are suites that are worthy of booking. Extremely helpful staff.
    Date of stay: February 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank danijelapope
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 5 January 2024

    The Duke of Marlborough is a landmark – a beautiful historic building across the road from the beach. The interior decor fits the outside – and the art and photos on the wall are great.

    The staff were friendly and the booking and checking in and out were fine. Our room was small but lovely.

    The housekeeping was a bit average (bed not well made, cheap coffee etc). The door into the bathroom wouldn’t shut properly which meant we had light coming into our room all night– it had clearly been broken for a while.

    Date of stay: November 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank TassKM
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 28 October 2023 via mobile

    We had an amazing stay here. The location is yards from the beach. Stunning views. The rooms are clean and well fitted out. But what makes the Duke is the staff. Wonderful welcome when we arrived. Great service at every meal and at the bar. My husband went game fishing and caught a snapper - the chef cooked it for lunch and dinner for us - quite beautifully. Would love to come back.

    Date of stay: October 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Q427BQlizt
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews