We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$180
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Squawk66
Watchet, United Kingdom

The Place to Stay in Russell/Kororāreka. Well recommended.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Apr 2024
We stayed here on our 5 week tour of New Zealand in February. The historic heritage hotel lived up to expectations with comfortable accommodation, first class food and friendly efficient service. The free WiFi was invaluable. We had everything that we needed for our 2 nights stay.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hananui Lodge, located right on Russell's waterfront
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double Bedroom
Tripadvisor
$250
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
A special place to unwind in the transquil atmosphere
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.4 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
0.7 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
0.2 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.9 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ounuwhao Harding House
eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.8 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.5 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
1.0 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The bedroom in the Pacifica Suite.
Tripadvisor
$200
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Russell
Reviews (1,671)
Filter reviews
1,671 results
Traveller rating
1,043
414
129
43
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,043
414
129
43
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb shoulder waterfront room fish and chips old world charm new zealand lovely location marlborough history paihia hapuka bay mains bungalow ferry nz deck sunset
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,671 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2024 via mobile

We went for an evening meal at this renowned hotel. The food was good and reasonably priced. The mains and deserts were particularly good. The wine was good value for money.
What was exceptional was the ambience and setting. This helped elevate the experience and led me to write a review. In addition to this., we were also super impressed with the service received. The staff were engaging, polite and efficient. The combination of all these factors ensured that a memorable evening was had.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 February 2024 via mobile

Wonderfully located hotel in historic Russell. The room was nicely furnished, king bed with a terrace. Great artwork throughout the establishment, which has a restaurant bar. Breakfast was included in our reservation with a La carte menu. We loved our time here.

Room tip: The sea viewing rooms are suites that are worthy of booking. Extremely helpful staff.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank danijelapope
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2024

The Duke of Marlborough is a landmark – a beautiful historic building across the road from the beach. The interior decor fits the outside – and the art and photos on the wall are great.

The staff were friendly and the booking and checking in and out were fine. Our room was small but lovely.

The housekeeping was a bit average (bed not well made, cheap coffee etc). The door into the bathroom wouldn’t shut properly which meant we had light coming into our room all night– it had clearly been broken for a while.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TassKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 October 2023 via mobile

We had an amazing stay here. The location is yards from the beach. Stunning views. The rooms are clean and well fitted out. But what makes the Duke is the staff. Wonderful welcome when we arrived. Great service at every meal and at the bar. My husband went game fishing and caught a snapper - the chef cooked it for lunch and dinner for us - quite beautifully. Would love to come back.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Q427BQlizt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 October 2023

Everything is perfect. Seaview rooms a must. Great food and wines. Helpful staff. Great restaurant next door for breakfast. Howewer there is no concierge so you need to be quite fit to manhandle your baggage.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Leonie602016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews