We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
TassKM
Wellington

Mixed experience

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Jan 2024
The Duke of Marlborough is a landmark – a beautiful historic building across the road from the beach. The interior decor fits the outside – and the art and photos on the wall are great.

The staff were friendly and the booking and checking in and out were fine. Our room was small but lovely.

The housekeeping was a bit average (bed not well made, cheap coffee etc). The door into the bathroom wouldn’t shut properly which meant we had light coming into our room all night– it had clearly been broken for a while.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hananui Lodge, located right on Russell's waterfront
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double Bedroom
$244
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
A special place to unwind in the transquil atmosphere
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.4 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.7 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
0.2 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
    0.9 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Ounuwhao Harding House
    • Vio.com
    0.8 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • eDreams
    • Vio.com
    • Lol.travel
    0.5 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    • Algotels
    1.0 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $81
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    3.3 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
    Free parking
    Pool
    View more hotels in Russell
    Reviews (1,672)
    Filter reviews
    1,672 results
    Traveller rating
    1,044
    414
    129
    43
    42
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    1,044
    414
    129
    43
    42
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews lamb shoulder waterfront room fish and chips old world charm new zealand lovely location marlborough history paihia hapuka bay mains bungalow ferry nz deck sunset
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    6 - 11 of 1,672 reviews
    Reviewed 28 October 2023 via mobile

    We had an amazing stay here. The location is yards from the beach. Stunning views. The rooms are clean and well fitted out. But what makes the Duke is the staff. Wonderful welcome when we arrived. Great service at every meal and at the bar. My husband went game fishing and caught a snapper - the chef cooked it for lunch and dinner for us - quite beautifully. Would love to come back.

    Date of stay: October 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Q427BQlizt
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 27 October 2023

    Everything is perfect. Seaview rooms a must. Great food and wines. Helpful staff. Great restaurant next door for breakfast. Howewer there is no concierge so you need to be quite fit to manhandle your baggage.

    Date of stay: October 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Leonie602016
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 19 October 2023 via mobile

    This hotel is right on the waterfront in Russell. Checkin was smooth and efficient although not overly friendly but ok. The room was excellent, clean and tidy. We had a balcony room at the back of the hotel which was great as the prevailing wind was from the other side so we were able to it out there when it was too cold and windy out front.

    Room tip: Breakfast was excellent. Also a good gym. They also have a lock up for bikes etc. The ferry to Paihia is basically right out front and goes evey half hour or so.
    Date of stay: October 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Russdi
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 18 October 2023 via mobile

    Had lunch here and certainly did not disappoint. The slow cooked lamb is absolutely amazing. We all had the dish and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the meal. The Italian waiter certainly added to the enjoyment, humour and suggestions. Finished with the Gelato ice-cream finished a really good lunch time with good friends.
    Well done Duke of Marlborough
    Will return.

    Date of stay: October 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank Geoff L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 15 October 2023 via mobile

    Thank you for making our board retreat so perfect. The venue was ideal for our meeting. The daytime food and drinks at the Duke Restaurant were efficient and delicious. Our dinner at Charlotte’s Kitchen was really great - fantastic cocktails, great food, excellent service and a great vibe with good music and atmosphere. The whole weekend was a pleasure and we felt cared for and special. I have been imagining this weekend for about 4 years and it was better than I dreamed!! Thank you very much 😊

    Date of stay: October 2023
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    Thank ajjohno
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews