We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Liz T

We loved the Duke!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Oct 2023via mobile
We had an amazing stay here. The location is yards from the beach. Stunning views. The rooms are clean and well fitted out. But what makes the Duke is the staff. Wonderful welcome when we arrived. Great service at every meal and at the bar. My husband went game fishing and caught a snapper - the chef cooked it for lunch and dinner for us - quite beautifully. Would love to come back.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Double Bedroom
$251
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The bedroom in the Pacifica Suite.
$200
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$81
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
3.3 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Hananui Lodge, located right on Russell's waterfront
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
A special place to unwind in the transquil atmosphere
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
0.2 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Lol.travel
0.9 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ounuwhao Harding House
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.8 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Trip.com
1.0 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Russell
Reviews (1,672)
Filter reviews
1,672 results
Traveller rating
1,044
414
129
43
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,044
414
129
43
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb shoulder waterfront room fish and chips old world charm new zealand lovely location marlborough history paihia hapuka bay mains bungalow ferry nz deck sunset
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,672 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2023

Everything is perfect. Seaview rooms a must. Great food and wines. Helpful staff. Great restaurant next door for breakfast. Howewer there is no concierge so you need to be quite fit to manhandle your baggage.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Leonie602016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 October 2023 via mobile

This hotel is right on the waterfront in Russell. Checkin was smooth and efficient although not overly friendly but ok. The room was excellent, clean and tidy. We had a balcony room at the back of the hotel which was great as the prevailing wind was from the other side so we were able to it out there when it was too cold and windy out front.

Room tip: Breakfast was excellent. Also a good gym. They also have a lock up for bikes etc. The ferry to Paihia is basically right out front and goes evey half hour or so.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Russdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2023 via mobile

Had lunch here and certainly did not disappoint. The slow cooked lamb is absolutely amazing. We all had the dish and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the meal. The Italian waiter certainly added to the enjoyment, humour and suggestions. Finished with the Gelato ice-cream finished a really good lunch time with good friends.
Well done Duke of Marlborough
Will return.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 October 2023 via mobile

Thank you for making our board retreat so perfect. The venue was ideal for our meeting. The daytime food and drinks at the Duke Restaurant were efficient and delicious. Our dinner at Charlotte’s Kitchen was really great - fantastic cocktails, great food, excellent service and a great vibe with good music and atmosphere. The whole weekend was a pleasure and we felt cared for and special. I have been imagining this weekend for about 4 years and it was better than I dreamed!! Thank you very much 😊

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank ajjohno
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 May 2023 via mobile

Had a nice stay here. The hotel is in a lovely location and has a nice historic feel to it.

Some downsides - upon arrival, three members of the restaurant or management team were discussing a poor review and how they should respond to it. It was really quiet in the lobby so we could hear everything and it seemed very impressional and offputting as a new arrival.

Bed linen feels very cheap and substandard.

There was a band playing very loud music until around 9:30 on the Friday night. It was really disappointing that management didn’t inform us beforehand.

The room could be very easily improved by updating things such as the carpet and curtains which were very old/dated and we’re not in keeping with the rest of the room.

Still, would recommend staying here.

Room tip: The drive here from Auckland is very long as there is no motorway. Dine at Sage at Paroa Bay - it’s incredible.
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KammmLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews