We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
utripmeup
Dunedin, New Zealand

Fools gold

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Apr 2023via mobile
An optical illusion created by a great views, a place to people watch and loads of patrons. But the food is a major let down. The market fish, fries and steak were served warm as if they had been cooked and left for 10 minutes on the counter waiting to be served. We found the flavours and combinations to be quite odd. Loads of pesto on the steak ?! And BBQ sauce with the fries ? For the quality the price was way too high. I get that inflation is rampant but this is poor value for money. Stick to having a cold drink on the terrace and eat elsewhere.
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hananui Lodge, located right on Russell's waterfront
$201
  • Priceline
    $201
  • Vio.com
    $201
  • eDreams
    $201
0.2 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
A special place to unwind in the transquil atmosphere
$276
  • Priceline
    $276
  • Vio.com
    $276
  • Expedia.com
0.4 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Soak in our hot tub while the kids enjoy the pool.
$275
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $270
  • Expedia.com
    $262
  • Priceline
    $275
0.0 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free parking
Pool
$265
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $265
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.5 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The bedroom in the Pacifica Suite.
$234
  • Priceline
    $234
  • Expedia.com
    $192
  • Hotels.com
    $200
1.5 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Titore Lodge breakfast room
$240
  • eDreams
    $240
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
0.7 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$86
  • Priceline
    $86
  • Expedia.com
    $80
  • Hotels.com
    $80
3.3 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Breakfast
$175
  • Agoda.com
2.7 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Enjoy breakfast on the deck
$200
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $200
4.7 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free parking
Beachfront
Double Bedroom
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Russell
Reviews (1,674)
Filter reviews
1,674 results
Traveller rating
1,046
414
129
43
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,046
414
129
43
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb shoulder waterfront room fish and chips old world charm new zealand lovely location marlborough history paihia hapuka bay mains bungalow ferry nz deck sunset
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,674 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2023

Excellent stay again at the Duke. Always such a nice visit to Russell. Our room twin beds, most comfortable with deck to the morning sunshine. Bathroom facilities were spotless with lovely white towels.
Will return again. Thanks

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KiwiTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 April 2023 via mobile

There is nothing to not like about this spot. Cheeky but super efficient and knowledgeable service. Delicious well priced food. Did I mention the water views and the history? Pro tip - get the oysters with the lemon pepper granita. And the waiter with the handle bar mustache? Enjoy. You are on vacation.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank suebird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 March 2023 via mobile

We arrived in Russell on Sunday & booked a table for that evening.
We received a very warm welcome and we
Thoroughly enjoyed our evening.
The service, food & atmosphere was marvellous.
The staff were brilliant. Very knowledgable & friendly not to mention efficient & cheerful.
Such a pleasant experience all round.
Thank you

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Izzybizzy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2023

This historic hotel has a prime spot on the waterfront. Outdoor furniture placed between and under the shade trees is right on the waterfront. A recent addition to the rear of the building upstairs and ground floor caters for tour groups. The bar and restaurant are well appointed and the drink selection is amazing. The menu is extensive and the food presented well. A lovely stay surrounded by history.

Room tip: Close to ferry, museum, 2 small convenient stores, several walkways, laundromat, good car parking at rear.
Date of stay: March 2023
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank johnhY4694QH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2023 via mobile

Okay, we are probably a bit biased because we had the amazing stand-alone bungalow immediately adjacent to the two-story historic hotel, so we had our own private courtyard facing the bay, as well as no one above or to either side of us, pretty damn incredible.
Plus, we had a full kitchen, sitting room, soaking tub for two and an overall very spacious living area.

Let’s just say — location, location, location!!!

The views from this property, morning, noon and night were romantic, even spectacular! The pier and ferry services were a 60 second walk from the hotel entrance. The beach and promenade were directly out our front door.

The hotel restaurant had abundant covered seating overlooking the same beautiful panorama with mature trees providing shady spots to linger, sit, relax, chat and while away the beautiful days.

It’s difficult to describe how magical this entire experience was.

The complimentary breakfasts provided many choices for us to sample, and which were all delicious. Coffee drinks were made by a live barista resulting in delightfully rich beverages to start and end our day. We also ate dinner here one night and thoroughly enjoyed both the mixed seafood platter and two flights of local wines. To top it off, the homemade licorice ice cream was absolutely divine!

The owners were on-site and working with the staff to ensure that everyone was well attended to.

Families should note the availability of “commodores” quarters also onsite providing for larger parties in one accommodation.

Our only regret is that we couldn’t stay longer.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ddisandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews