We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eagles Nest
Nearby Hotels
Hananui Lodge Motel(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Russell Cottages(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Duke of Marlborough Hotel(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Commodore's Lodge(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Russell --Orongo Bay Holiday Park(Russell)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tiki Tiki Ora(Russell)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Duke Motel(Russell)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Clendon(Russell)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
137
5
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
5
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate chefpersonal chefinfinity poolnew zealandfully stocked kitchenhot tubmaster bathroomhuge screenstaff cateredluxurious accommodationcook your ownevery directionbedroom villaslice of heavenamazing viewsthree bedroomthis wonderful place
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

I see all the fabulous reviews but I’m sorry I just don’t get it.
Home from home yes , another dishwasher , oven etc etc but nothing to cook and anyway who wants to wash up he dishes even if there was something to cook
A paltry few eggs and some bread with a few bits and pieces presented to you in array all. Even the cheese in the fridge is an extra that’s charged for. So unless you bring your own provisions I’m not sure what the whole kitchen setup is all about.
I read that the chefs are amazing and unfortunately we did not get he chance to experience their food. However I would not want chefs and the whole meal being prepared in my villa every night.
There are no common areas , no bar , no restaurants etc etc. Our villa did not have a pool but I believe some of the others do.
The village down below was very average and nothing to write home about.
We had just come up from Matakauri Lodge , and Cape Kidnappers which we thoroughly enjoyed and felt way more comfortable in.
I have to say Cieran went out of his way to try to make our experience a pleasurable one.
Not for us

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Pundah17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimania, General Manager at Eagles Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to review Eagles Nest and your note about Ciaran.

It is a shame that you did not enjoy the experience that, as the vast majority of others do, we provide here at Eagles Nest. The properties you have mentioned are fantastic properties albeit a very different type of product- a traditional lodge offering vs a fully serviced villa estate. Many of our guests enjoy the added flexibility, privacy and amenities that a villa estate offers compared to a lodge suite hence why this type of product can suit guests so well. In regard to the in villa breakfast provisioning these are extensive- Louis Roderer Champagne, Eggs, Bacon, Salmon, Breads, Yoghurts, Mueslis, Cereals, Berries, Fresh Fruit, Waters, Milks, Juices, Teas, Coffees, conserves, and soft drinks- all complimentary. However, we have taken your comments on-board and now offer cheese free of charge.

The township of Russell is very historically and culturally significant for our young country. Being rich in history both with Maori and Colonial significance, featuring some of New Zealand's most historical and oldest buildings. On top of this, the beautiful water front is dotted with nationally recognised restaurants, cafes, galleries and boutiques which offers an unparalleled ambience not seen anywhere else.

Unfortunately, you had not mentioned to us that you had not been enjoying your stay whilst being here at Eagles Nest. If so we would have moved heaven and earth to ensure that you left happy, as we pride ourselves in exceeding guests’ expectations.

I hope that you are able to return next time for more than 24 hours, so you can experience what Eagles Nest and Russell is internationally renowned for.

Should you wish to discuss anything further please do not hesitate to get in contact with me directly.

William Hudson
General Manager
william@eaglesnest.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed tha fab Villa, grand views overlooking the Bay of Isalnds and town of Russell, as well as fantastic 5 course dinner from the private chef. Everything else was to the point and completely uncomplicated. Perfect stay! Thank you Eagles Nest.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank smoosleitner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

What a spot! Do book a villa. You will be rewarded with a fantastic experience. Each of the villas has its attributes and you will not be lacking at any of the villas. The staff is incredibly accommodating and very good at organizing activities. The chef curated dinners are well worth it. The 5 course may be more than most need. Suggest you stay with a 3 course and canapes. The in house wine list is very good and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Every villa has stunning views and accoutrements.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssas4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

We spent five nights at Eagles Nest in the Eyrie and Sacred Space villas/rooms with our three children. Eyrie was adequate and pleasant enough for our family of five. We were joined by my in-laws for a couple of nights, and moved to Sacred Space, which was fantastic and felt like a huge upgrade from Eyrie in terms of size - really the difference between a small guest house and a small estate.

What made the trip special for us was the chef service provided by Gordon and Sam. Food was fantastic and conversation was enjoyable as well.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 071YD98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

We had a three bedroom all with ensuite bathrooms for the two of us, it was spotlessly clean on a well greeted arrival. The fridge was full of things that were complementary and restocked each day. The villa had its own pool with fantastic views across the bay. The service from all staff was also excellent. Cannot fault our stay.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Adrian242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews