We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
17
1
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house birdsong chris homestay suite hosts
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2017

We booked this B&B on the last leg of our two week New Zealand trip. It was a bit pricey but booked it based on TripAdvisor reviews. We were disappointed from the minute we drove up to the place to the minute we left after a two night stay. The grounds are badly in need of TLC; the guest lounge is dated; and the breakfast left a lot to be desired. On a positive note, the bedding was quite comfortable and the hosts were gracious. Overall the place just gave me the creeps the entire time we were there. I would not recommend staying here.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Texan1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orongo-Bay-Hosts, Owner at Orongo Bay Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Lissa,
We are genuinely sorry you were disappointed and did not feel the same as other Trip Advisor guests at our historic Homestead. Your visit was at the end of winter and, with our organic focus, there is only so much of nature that we can keep under control at that time of year in a sub-tropical climate. Since then we have added The Wine Room and a new conversation corner in the formal lounge which you might have enjoyed. The guests immediately following your visit wrote "beautiful property with excellent services". We are pleased you reached your Texas home safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Michael & Chris are perfect hosts & go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.
The beds & pillows are so comfortable with sheets that are a blend of cotton & wool & surprising in winter, no need for an electric blanket!
Underfloor heating of the floor tiles, insulated ceilings & walls made the room so cosy.
The breakfast basket of goodies that Michael brought to out room was gorgeous with warm homemade bread, jam, honey, peanut butter, muesli & croissants. Bang went any diet!
If you get the opportunity to dine with your hosts of an evening, do so. A minimum of 4 guests - so travel with friends!
We intend to return..

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesH400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orongo-Bay-Hosts, Owner at Orongo Bay Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you Les for your shining review. You and Judy were a real joy to look after, even more special because it was such a lovely time of celebration for you. We look forward to seeing you back with friends. The first glass will be on us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

We enjoyed our stay so much that we are looking to return in summer. Chris and Michael are fantastic hosts who have a high attention to detail. We were made very welcome in the main house and nothing was a problem.
The breakfasts were great, the rooms nicely decorated and it was a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank allycat3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orongo-Bay-Hosts, Owner at Orongo Bay Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

It was a pleasure to look after you both, and with summer not really ending until April we do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying again at Orongo Bay Homestead - this time for 5 nights.
Michael and Chris are the most amazing hosts, ensuring that every detail of the stay is the best it can possibly be.
The rooms are spectacular, arriving to lovely music playing on the in-room system, fresh fruit and a very warm welcome. The grounds are gorgeous, with a beautiful pond with Brown Teal Ducks in residence.
Our breakfasts were second to none. We also experienced dinner which was sublime. The extensive wine list ensured that we had a choice of many varietals and extremely good wines. Not to mention the choice of liquors and whiskeys.
We cannot recommend Orongo Bay Homestead highly enough and look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orongo-Bay-Hosts, Owner at Orongo Bay Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

5 rare Brown Teal ducklings are on the pond today Jennifer and rare cacti and frangipane are flowering. Sorry you missed them all. Next visit perhaps. Thanks for your kind words, and happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed the attentive and friendly hospitality of the owners. The main home is historic and my husband & I stayed in a newer annex that has two 2- story accommodations with outside terraces for relaxing. We sampled 2 local restaurants & joined 4 other guests for a memorable multi course dinner at the Homestead. Food and wine were outstanding! Highly recommend this private dining experience.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orongo-Bay-Hosts, Owner at Orongo Bay Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

As you wrote in our guest book Nancy, being "away from the hustle and bustle of urban life" is so relaxing. We are lucky and your Boston friends would always be welcomed with a glass of wine served by us, but with your compliments. You did not loose a white iphone near here did you?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews