We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$213
Priceline
$213
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
$213
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Douglas E
Missouri Ridge, North Dakota

Great stay and too short

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Mar 2024
Great Place, we made a late reservation and were treated very well indeed. Room was very spacious, light and airy with a 30' stroll to the beachside. The hosts were very helpful and gave us great directions and tips. The stroll to the shops and restaurants was less than 5 minutes. We will return.
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: Has a very convenient laundry room.
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hananui Lodge, General Manager at Hananui Lodge and Apartments, responded to this review
Responded 31 Mar 2024
What a nice 5 star review! Thank you! It makes our day to know that our guests enjoyed their stay here as we fell blessed to be part of Hananui. We are looking forward to seeing you here again :))
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$155
  • Expedia.com
    $154
  • Agoda.com
    $142
  • Hotels.com
    $155
0.2 km from Hananui Lodge and Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double Bedroom
Booking.com
$250
  • Priceline
    $250
  • Agoda.com
    $247
  • Hotels.com
    $250
0.4 km from Hananui Lodge and Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$276
  • Priceline
    $276
  • Vio.com
    $276
  • Expedia.com
0.5 km from Hananui Lodge and Apartments
Soak in our hot tub while the kids enjoy the pool.
Booking.com
$275
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $275
  • Vio.com
    $275
  • eDreams
    $275
0.1 km from Hananui Lodge and Apartments
Free parking
Pool
The bedroom in the Pacifica Suite.
Booking.com
$210
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $194
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Hananui Lodge and Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$86
  • Priceline
    $86
  • Agoda.com
    $78
  • Expedia.com
    $81
3.1 km from Hananui Lodge and Apartments
Free parking
Pool
Enjoy breakfast on the deck
Booking.com
$175
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $175
4.5 km from Hananui Lodge and Apartments
Free parking
Beachfront
Ounuwhao Harding House
eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.7 km from Hananui Lodge and Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
1.0 km from Hananui Lodge and Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.4 km from Hananui Lodge and Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Russell
Reviews (479)
Filter reviews
479 results
Traveller rating
398
62
12
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
398
62
12
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ground floor unit fantastic location first floor a lovely place to stay waterfront lodge accommodation motel units balcony roomy nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 479 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2024 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to stay! Right on the waterfront. We stayed in the Boat House and highly recommend!! It’s quiet, has air con, like a little apartment! The owners were very friendly and professional! This place is centrally located to everything!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dtcars
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hananui Lodge, General Manager at Hananui Lodge and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2024

Thank you for your 5 star review! :) We are glad you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2024

Booked this on booking.com from the UK. Was warmly greeted when we arrived. Our apartment was beautifully presented and very clean. Fully equipped kitchen, great bathroom with full-size shower, comfortable large double bed, TV with sky, and good wifi. Also had a lovely balcony and private off-road parking. Excellent position within a minute's walk of the promenade, beach, and restaurants. 5* highly recommend.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hananui Lodge, General Manager at Hananui Lodge and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2024

Lovely 5 star review! Thank you so much. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2024 via mobile

Well we arrived in one of the earths mortal paradises that is Russell, 2 days ago.
Fortunately for us we booked Hannui Lodge ran by Nev and Cecelia, two absolutely wonderful people who cannot do enough for you.
This is our first time in New Zealand and we wanted to come to one of the most historic places in the country and it doesn’t get more historic than the “Hell Hole” of the pacific (Do your research folks) !
We spent a few days in underwhelming downtown Auckland, loved Devonport,Waiheke Island and Ponsonby but they don’t get close to Russell or the accommodation afforded by Hannui.
A path to the beach and a walk down the strand to superb restaurants and bars, your in the middle of everything stepping out of your room.
We absolutely loved it here and really appreciated Nev and Cecelia, great down to earth people 👍

Room tip: There’s no aircon unfortunately, there are fans in the room but be prepared 👍
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank stephenlyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hananui Lodge, General Manager at Hananui Lodge and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2024

It is never too late to say thank you for your beautiful review! You were a pleasure to host and it is very special for us to hear that our guests enjoyed our beautiful town Russell being one of the most iconic historic places in New Zealand. Hananui is part of it and we want to share the joy of being here with everyone that stay with us. We hope that you have had a safe travel back to your country and we will be very happy to host you again in the future. :) Nev and Celina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2023

We were in annexe one block back from main building: not a problem as good sized room with balcony :don't think main part actually had a sea view . Safe parking in locked ground floor garage.

Room was comfortable, good bed shower/kitchen tho you are never going to cook a banquet. Maybe 3 mins walk to beach front; maybe 5 to jetty for ferry across to Piahia.Plenty of restaurants in town, Duke of Marlborough a bit over rated, we had a good take away fish and chips from Seaside ( on corner of beachfront and main drag): also several Thai , a small supermarket and off-license. It was quiet when we were here in early Nov but apparently gets much busier later in season

Room tip: Easy Ferry across to Piahia for Waitangi etc
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John Alistair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 December 2023

Hananui Lodge and Apartments is the perfect place to stay in Russell. It's on the waterfront and beautifully maintained. The modern rooms are well-appointed, light, airy, and spacious. Plus, hosts Nev and Celina are warm, friendly, and helpful. I unreservedly recommend you stay there. I will if I return to Russell.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lynnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews