We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A vibrant very friendly place”
Review of Hone's Garden

Hone's Garden
Ranked #1 of 4 Quick Bites in Russell
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating
Description: Authentic wood fired pizzas, local craft beer on tap and boutique NZ wines in a relaxed, sheltered tropical garden.
Reviewed 24 April 2022

We only had drinks here but the vibe is very friendly & welcoming.
Will definitely return to eat next time we are in Russell.

Date of visit: April 2022
1  Thank Merg_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2022

First time visit and we were pleasantly surprised what was hiding behind the fence. What a cool little place, with great staff. We sat outside at a table and really enjoyed our scrumptious kumera fries, they were delicious. Pizza was good, wine was good and everything was reasonably priced. This place is very well done and a nice surprise in the middle of Russell. Worth a visit.

Date of visit: April 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 April 2022

Unreal little spot. Unfortunately the weather was horrible but it didn’t dampen the dinner experience. Front of house such a nice dude, New Zealand beer tasty as expected and most importantly, Pizza was delicious and as good as anywhere I’ve been in a long time. Big props team

Date of visit: April 2022
Thank Burga99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 March 2022

If you are RUSSELL you must have a meal at Hones garden. The food was lovely and the service great I had the best calamari ever. Small dog into the courtyard and had an amazing dinner stop it is obviously a very busy place and I suggest you don’t leave it too late in the evening. The pizzas was the best ever.

Date of visit: March 2022
Thank Eileen and Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 March 2022

We went here for a casual dinner during our stay in Russell. The pizza was one of the best I've had! Calamari was equally as good. Such a cute setting.

Date of visit: March 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank apoulgrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Hone's Garden also viewed

 
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Hone's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.