We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not live up to expectations”

Duke of Marlborough
Ranked #5 of 30 Restaurants in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $99
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located right on the waterfront in Russell. Serving up delectable delights for lunch and dinner the Duke of Marlborough Restaurant is at the heart of this historical hotel. The menu showcases locally sourced seasonal produce, presenting a new take on classic favourites.
Reviewed 8 May 2021

My husband took me out for dinner to the The Duke Of Marlborough. As it was my first time, and I'd heard such great reviews, I was very excited. He made reservations and asked for a nice table as we were celebrating our Anniversary. We were given a beautiful table. The waiters were very nice and the main was lovely. The food was beautifully plated. However, that's were the positive aspects end.

I ordered a gin to start. Instead, I was given a glass of white wine. When that was sent back, I was brought a gin and tonic. When I questioned that, I was told that was what I ordered. At that point, I gave up.

The lamb entree was flavorful and tender, but overcooked. And, the recommended "steamed greens" consisted mostly of lightly steamed cauliflower florets. This was not a good accompaniment to my main.

To finish the meal, we decided to have the three chocolate dessert. Both of us were hard pressed to find any chocolate flavor.

On top of this, no one said Happy Anniversary. Overall, I was disappointed.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DarleneEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (2,359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

407 - 411 of 2,359 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2021

Couldn’t fault the flavours, given it was such a busy night with a full restaurant and a wedding to cater for in the adjoining function room. Our only minor criticism was the potatoes accompanying the steak were lukewarm. Minor issue given the quality of the food and service. Will definitely be back

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Enabling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 April 2021

My partner and I stayed overnight on 27 April. The evening meal was only average. My partner could not finish his eye fillet as it was very chewy. I had the pork fillet which was very nice.
Breakfast was appalling. We arrived at 8.30am for our continental breakfast. 4 strips of very dry bacon left, no scrambled egg left, when I asked for a poached egg I was told in no uncertain terms that this wasn’t possible, that the chef was too busy. No beans left. A few small sausages and 2 lonely hash browns, but quite a few tomatoes. The replacement scrambled egg arrive 45 mins later as we were leaving .Coffee was ordered when we arrived and I had to request a second time after completion of my breakfast. Our overnight stay included 2 course dinner and breakfast but I believe the breakfast is $27.50 certainly not value for money.
The Duke of Marlborough has a great reputation and as locals we thought we would support the local business. Will think twice next time.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 April 2021

Such an awesome place to have drinks as the sun is going down. Attentive staff and nice drinks but high prices especially if you have a cocktail!

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Both41
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 April 2021

We had a great meal with the family overlooking Russel waterfront and Jetty. Burgers and chips were amazing! A refreshing pit-stop while traveling by boat around the Bay of Islands for a few days.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SBaker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Duke of Marlborough also viewed

 

Been to Duke of Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.