We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Burger we have ever had”

Crusty Crab Takeaway
Ranked #3 of 5 Quick Bites in Russell
Description: Fish and chip takeaway Russell New Zealand
Restaurant details
Description: Fish and chip takeaway Russell New Zealand
Reviewed 9 January 2023

We ordered 3 beef burgers, 1 scoop chips and hoki came to $60ish. So a little on the expensive side but then it is a tourist destination, so to be expected, and worth it in taste. The burgers were absolutely delicious. The fish was a decent portion, and very fresh, and it also came with its own chips. The oil for these is just right not dirty oil / very clean taste. All in all a great place to grab some traditional fish and chips to eat by the seaside.

Date of visit: January 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DonnasExperiences
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2022

Old owners were shocking! didn’t care about no one but themselves, The new owners however are so much better, “chicky burger” and “beef burger” were one of the best burgers i’ve ever had! the chips were great and cooked well, the fish (hoki) wasn’t as good as anything else i had but the staff were friendly and efficient, the pricing definitely was a little dear ($9-14 for a burger) however they might just be regaining from there loses during covid which i understand, there’s also a new menu (posted below) Highlyy recommend trying it everyone!

Date of visit: January 2022
5  Thank Matt_reviewschecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 January 2022 via mobile

Now trading as Russell Fish Co. Great selection and really friendly and efficient. We just enjoyed an easy and delicious dinner - thanks to the team!

Date of visit: January 2022
Thank ApisMelliferum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 December 2021

Asked for a snapper fillet - cost $11 so was expecting it to be a decent size. I'm a fisherman and if that was the size of a fillet, then it was an undersized fish!!! The scallops tasted processed, not fresh. Would give this meal half a star if I could.

Went back to complain - is now trading as Russell Fish Co. Buyer beware!!!

Date of visit: December 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sleepless2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 May 2021

Had the fish & chips from the Crust Crab, well priced when comparing them to other outlets & very fresh & tasty

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank susushack
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracy P, Owner at Crusty Crab Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2021

Thank you we are pleased you enjoyed your meal .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crusty Crab Takeaway also viewed

 
Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Crusty Crab Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of in . If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.