We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food at a reasonable price”

Crusty Crab Takeaway
Ranked #3 of 5 Quick Bites in Russell
Description: Fish and chip takeaway Russell New Zealand
Restaurant details
Description: Fish and chip takeaway Russell New Zealand
Reviewed 9 October 2020

A vendor at the little craft market in Russell recommended the Crusty Crab to us. The reviewer who lamented the small portion size of one scoop of chips should’ve ordered two scoops. All four of us ate some, our son ate some more later, and we all had them with dinner that night. It was a massive portion of chips. I do wonder why NZ takeaway places charge for ketchup, though; just put some bottles out for people who are dining there. The burgers were fine. No complaints.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2020

Total rip guys
6/7 staff on a Sunday evening, not terribly busy.
Staff pleasant enough
BUT the price is ludicrous!
$4.50 for 1 very small portion of fries. Come on guys, we are Local and willing to support, but this is outrageous

Date of visit: October 2020
1  Thank 228lav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 August 2020 via mobile

Spotted this place during the day and checked closing time.
Awesome fresh fish that we saw being delivered so went back in the evening. Don’t miss this place is you want the best fish and chips and a good natter with the staff

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank Jennyj22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TracyP2186, Owner at Crusty Crab Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2020

Thank you we are pleased you enjoyed your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2020

Lovely shop offering tasty fish and chips at a reasonable price. Lovely friendly staff too. Recommended while in Russell.

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank D9739QYcathyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 July 2020

Fish was fresh and very tasty, oysters excellent, possibly best fish and chips we have had.
Burgers huge and filled 2 teenage boy’s easily

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank _lmorshuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Crusty Crab Takeaway also viewed

 
Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Crusty Crab Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.