We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food & Great Value for Money”
Review of Diggers Restaurant

Diggers Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 30 Restaurants in Russell
Price range: $5 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Come and enjoy relaxed dining in the warm, friendly environment of the local Russell RSA. We serve good, wholesome food at very reasonable prices. Dine in the Restaurant or outside in the covered courtyard. A childrens menu is available and there's even a toy box to keep the little ones amused too.
Reviewed 31 July 2019

I recently attended the RUSSELL BIRDMAN FESTIVAL along with my 3 children.

We visited the DIGGERS FAMILY RESTAURANT at the RUSSELL RSA on the Saturday for lunch. We found the food to be excellent, in quality, quantity and great value for money. The burgers in particular were exceptional.

This place was found by accident and is a real gem hidden away; just waiting to be found.

It was so good that we returned on the Saturday evening for dinner and also for the fabulous "Roast of the Day" (Pork Belly) on Sunday.

A return visit is a definite on our next visit to RUSSELL.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2019 via mobile

In a backstreet of Russell where most people stop to eat on the waterfront. Friendly environment in this RSA (Association that support servicemen and their families) managed small restaurant. 2 different choices at lunch and dinner, good straightforward food well cooked. For 1 dish, dessert and a pint of tap beer spent 28 nzd. Payment with foreign credit cards may not go through, prepare some cash (atm just in front). Worth a visit

Date of visit: March 2019
3  Thank Gitanillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2019

Very friendly club with excellent home cooked meals at very reasonable prices. The beer and wine are also the best prices in Russell. After 9 days in New Zealand we have finally found a restaurant that produces fresh good sized meals which are beautifully cooked by Alice & Nan. If you don't eat here at least once you will be paying tourist prices for very average meals in any of the restaurants in Russell.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bobby_Sole
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2019 via mobile

Friendly people and home made food at very reasonable price. I would definitely recommend here for a roast dinner.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Planning_trips2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 September 2018

We had an excellent dinner at Diggers. You have to sign in at the entrance if you are not a RSA member. We ordered a nice glass of wine and our food at the bar and had a lovely chat with the gentleman who served us. The ladies in the kitchen cooked us a beautiful meal, we both had the fish and thoroughly enjoyed it. Good value for money!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Irmi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Diggers Restaurant also viewed

 
Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Diggers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.