We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family dining”

Bayside Restaurant and Bar
Reserve a table
Ranked #20 of 30 Restaurants in Russell
Price range: $12 - $35
Description: Right on the beach in Russell. Classic cocktails, lovely food and one of the best views in the country
Restaurant details
Description: Right on the beach in Russell. Classic cocktails, lovely food and one of the best views in the country
Reviewed 15 July 2023 via mobile

A menu with something for everyone. Especially enjoyed the lamb chops and spring-rolls.
Service very friendly and attentive.
Will certainly be visiting again.

Date of visit: July 2023
Thank Connector242106
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2023

This spot is right in the centre of Russel, next to the harbour front. It’s a shame that the service is so subpar for the location.
We had the bar tendy, licking his fingers and eating food in display of customers, whilst handling a pregnant ladies milkshake. When we brought this to the attention of wait staff, he became emotional and threw the drink in the sink.
Upon receiving our food (7 plates) the presentation was alright, but the food was subpar. Flour wasn’t cooked out of the batter on our fish n chips, long enough. Pulled pork burger didn’t even taste like pork or meat.

Wait staff fixed the issues but I still wouldn’t go again.

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChefElf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2023 via mobile

Great location - terrible service - had a one hour wait for average to poor food.

Have changed their name to Seaside Cafe Restaurant Bar

Avoid - much better choices close by

Date of visit: April 2023
Thank Climber27577576346
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2023

We were eating three different meals. All very good ! Nice place with a wonderfull view to the wharft and the sundowner.
We can recommand it!
It is called now Seaside.

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank utosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2023

We went here for a late breakfast and had the pancakes which were lovely and a great waters edge setting. Service was slow considering there were only a couple of groups there.

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bushlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Bayside Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Bayside Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.