We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$897
View Deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
67
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
67
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach one of a kind magical place chauffeur driven small window fantastic hotel incredible views very special place perfect stay continental breakfast our honeymoon stayed nights new zealand beautiful location wonderful hosts place to stay antonio
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2021

We enjoyed 3 nights at Donkey Bay inn and from the moment we were greeted at the door we felt like we were in a hidden hideaway of epic proportions. The lodge is simply stunning and words won't do justice to the beauty, scale, art, and the views. It is just perfect, and somehow combines the luxury and grace of all the design and art with a feeling of simply being 'at home'

Amelia, Brooke, Rosa, and Tracey, thank you for looking after us so well, for making amazing breakfasts for us, driving us in the Rolls Royce to dinner, for every little thing you did for us that we may, or may have not seen, you were wonderful happy, attentive hosts.

This was a 50th birthday celebration for my wife, and we will never forget the experience of being looked after by the team at Donkey Bay Inn. It is a magical place.

I guess the ultimate question is always, 'would you go back' the answer is yes. We booked for August before we left. Thanks DBI - we will see you all soon.

Room tip: There are only 4 rooms and each is superb!
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David6303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donkey Bay, General Manager at Donkey Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

A very humbling review David! Thank you so much for your positive feedback, we loved having you both stay with us and look forward to seeing you in August.
The team at Donkey Bay Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2021

You could spend a week at Donkey Bay Inn & it won’t be enough. From the moment you set foot in the meandering tunnel - you’re on holiday.
The breathtaking outlook to the Bay of Islands, the architectural detail, the quirky art collection & the lively, personable energy of the staff...makes it truly difficult to leave.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank LindyGDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donkey Bay, General Manager at Donkey Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We appreciate your awesome review Lindy! We would love to have you stay again with us.
The team at Donkey Bay Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2020 via mobile

Absolute perfection. Staff were amazing! The accomodation is quirky, unique and beautiful. Hospitality, cleanliness and overall energy of both the staff, owner and building was flawless. Will definitely be back for future trips with family.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ashlee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donkey Bay, General Manager at Donkey Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Such a lovely review Ashlee, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay, cant wait to have you back.
The team at Donkey Bay Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2020

Donkey Bay Inn is a unique and beautiful sanctuary. Each room is different and magical. We loved the Emperor Suite with wonderful sea views and amazing 4 poster bed. It seemed that everywhere we turned there was something of beauty. We feel restored and truly rested after 4 days there. we strongly recommend Donkey Bay Inn.

Room tip: The Emperor Suite ground floor no stairs, big bath, lovely sea views.
Date of stay: November 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donkey Bay, General Manager at Donkey Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review Victoria, we loved having you stay with us!
The team at Donkey Bay Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2020

Amazing stylish lodge with phenomenal views in a great location, only surpassed by the super friendly, efficient and relaxed staff Amelia and Sherea!! Congratulations to Antonio who we really enjoyed meeting and "chewing the fat'!. We will be back.

Date of stay: October 2020
Thank AnnabelChisholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donkey Bay, General Manager at Donkey Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Annabel, thank you so much for coming to stay with us and for your lovely review, hope to see you again!
The team at Donkey Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews