We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
63
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
63
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach one of a kind magical place chauffeur driven small window fantastic hotel incredible views very special place perfect stay continental breakfast our honeymoon stayed nights new zealand beautiful location wonderful hosts place to stay antonio
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2020

Donkey Bay Inn is a unique and beautiful sanctuary. Each room is different and magical. We loved the Emperor Suite with wonderful sea views and amazing 4 poster bed. It seemed that everywhere we turned there was something of beauty. We feel restored and truly rested after 4 days there. we strongly recommend Donkey Bay Inn.

Room tip: The Emperor Suite ground floor no stairs, big bath, lovely sea views.
Date of stay: November 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2020

Amazing stylish lodge with phenomenal views in a great location, only surpassed by the super friendly, efficient and relaxed staff Amelia and Sherea!! Congratulations to Antonio who we really enjoyed meeting and "chewing the fat'!. We will be back.

Date of stay: October 2020
Thank AnnabelChisholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2020

Donkey Bay Inn is exactly as it looks on the website, incredible views, art, decor, style and definitely lots of surprises like being dropped to dinner in a classic car! Amazing hospitality from Amelia and Shereya - we didn't want to leave! We will definitely be back and would love to be able to share this hidden gem with friends and whanau.
Awesome to meet Antonio as well - what incredible vision!

Room tip: Skyfall Suite
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaToi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donkey Bay, General Manager at Donkey Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2020

Lisa and Rod Thank you so much for coming to stay with us and writing a lovely review! we loved having you and looking forward to your return. From Amelia & the team at DBI.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2020

There plenty of surprises waiting for anyone lucky enough to stay at this hidden gem, so close to Russell, yet completely isolated and off-the-grid.
Any fantastic hotel needs fantastic hosts and Amelia, Sharia, Anita, Antonio and everyone were just lovely. (Forgive my spelling if I got some wrong).
Really appreciate the flexibility to bring guests in for brekkie 3 days running.
And our chauffeurs (including Alan) - just superb.
Many thanks, Gavin&Lynne

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BigGhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donkey Bay, General Manager at Donkey Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2020

Thank you for the lovely review Gavin & Lynne, you we're both a pleasure to have as guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2020 via mobile

From the incredible curated interior, the view and the superb hospitality its hard to find a better hotel anywhere. Very easy to feel at home and relax within minutes of arriving. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KerryK352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donkey Bay, General Manager at Donkey Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2020

Thank you so much for your lovely comment it was a pleasure to have you stay with us! From Amelia and the team at DBI.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews