We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
63
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
63
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach one of a kind magical place chauffeur driven small window fantastic hotel incredible views very special place perfect stay continental breakfast our honeymoon stayed nights new zealand beautiful location wonderful hosts place to stay antonio
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2020

Amazing stylish lodge with phenomenal views in a great location, only surpassed by the super friendly, efficient and relaxed staff Amelia and Sherea!! Congratulations to Antonio who we really enjoyed meeting and "chewing the fat'!. We will be back.

Date of stay: October 2020
Thank AnnabelChisholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2020

Donkey Bay Inn is exactly as it looks on the website, incredible views, art, decor, style and definitely lots of surprises like being dropped to dinner in a classic car! Amazing hospitality from Amelia and Shereya - we didn't want to leave! We will definitely be back and would love to be able to share this hidden gem with friends and whanau.
Awesome to meet Antonio as well - what incredible vision!

Room tip: Skyfall Suite
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaToi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donkey Bay, General Manager at Donkey Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2020

Lisa and Rod Thank you so much for coming to stay with us and writing a lovely review! we loved having you and looking forward to your return. From Amelia & the team at DBI.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2020

There plenty of surprises waiting for anyone lucky enough to stay at this hidden gem, so close to Russell, yet completely isolated and off-the-grid.
Any fantastic hotel needs fantastic hosts and Amelia, Sharia, Anita, Antonio and everyone were just lovely. (Forgive my spelling if I got some wrong).
Really appreciate the flexibility to bring guests in for brekkie 3 days running.
And our chauffeurs (including Alan) - just superb.
Many thanks, Gavin&Lynne

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BigGhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donkey Bay, General Manager at Donkey Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2020

Thank you for the lovely review Gavin & Lynne, you we're both a pleasure to have as guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2020 via mobile

From the incredible curated interior, the view and the superb hospitality its hard to find a better hotel anywhere. Very easy to feel at home and relax within minutes of arriving. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KerryK352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donkey Bay, General Manager at Donkey Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2020

Thank you so much for your lovely comment it was a pleasure to have you stay with us! From Amelia and the team at DBI.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2020

There is a reason why all the reviews are 5 star and that is because Donkey Bay Inn is perfect. We have stayed in many interesting, welcoming and excellent places, this was one of the best, probably the best.

Amelia, Antonio and the team at Donkey Bay Inn make you feel at home from the moment you arrive until the sad moment when you have to leave. Everything about the location and the accomodation is beautiful.

It is a special place to stay and lucky for us not too far away, we were thinking about when we can next stay after being there for less than a day.

I get suspicious of reviews that sound too perfect but it really is that good.

Room tip: They all look good but Skyfall is very special
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasp99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donkey Bay, General Manager at Donkey Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2020

Thank you so much for your lovey comments and coming to stay with us! We would love to have you come again.
Best wishes From Amelia & the team at DBI.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews