We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you all at Butterfish”
Review of Butterfish

Butterfish
Ranked #6 of 30 Restaurants in Russell
Price range: $10 - $50
Restaurant details
Reviewed 11 March 2024

Spent 6 days in Russell in Feb, and all the staff at butterfish treated us (with my niece initially, then solo) as friends from the word go! Food, atmosphere, view, location (oh, and the Pinot gris!) , all awesome. Reasonably priced and, as a solo (older) traveller, felt comfortable and relaxed. Now back home in Uk, with very fond memories of my time in Russell. Thank you all at butterfish..

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2024

On a slightly rainy evening in Russell it was lovely to still be able to sit outside for dinner under the sheltered area at Butterfish, enabling us to enjoy the view and watch 'the world go by'. Service was friendly and efficient. Food was very nice and reasonably priced. We loved the Vietnamese lamb lettuce cups, butter chicken spring roll and mushroom gnocchi. Recommend this place and look forward to returning one day.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank ChristineB472
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2024 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner sitting at a table overlooking the bay. I had excellent fish and chips which also came with a delicious salad. The batter on the fish was very good and the fish fresh and flaky. My husband had the seafood chowder. He exclaimed it was the best he’d ever had. Our server was very friendly and attentive. She had a great personality and sense of humor.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Hoff84
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2024 via mobile

We ate an evening meal here. Excellent food and great service. Would happily go back. Pepper squid / Asian dumplings to start, fish and chips / beautifully cooked fillet steak for main. All delicious.

Date of visit: February 2024
1  Thank BerylG511
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2024 via mobile

Spent four days in Russell and spent every morning at this lovely place. Beautiful views , gorgeous coffee and great service. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Butterfish also viewed

 
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Butterfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.