We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ours was a late lunch in the”
Review of Butterfish

Butterfish
Ranked #6 of 30 Restaurants in Russell
Price range: $10 - $49
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 December 2020 via mobile

Ours was a late lunch in the courtyard at Butterfish, right beside the Bay of islands Swordfish Club.

We came to Russell with the name of one dining venue ringing in our ears. It and the name Russell are synonymous but for us our lunch at Butterfish will be our lasting memory. We had the dumplings and a steak sandwich. The menu is well balance fusion style that includes local oysters served as oysters should be, simply. Supplementing the menu is a very good range from the cabinet.

This meal is very close to the best we have had in one of the many restaurants in Paihia. It has a local feel, local product prepared by a local chef. We have found that this has made a difference in this delightful area.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank KhunWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2020

We ordered half a dozen oysters and prawn linguine. Excellent. Our only complaint was that the cafe was open in the morning and early afternoon -- good for lunch, but what about dinner!? We would have gone twice if it had been open in the evening.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 November 2020 via mobile

We ordered the Big Breakfast and Eggs Benedict and it was delicious! We had been told Butterfish did the best Eggs Benedict in Russell and we weren't disappointed. Great food and sitting right on the waterfront made for a fantastic morning.

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank Flyer492610
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 October 2020

Stopped in for lunch and had our meal indoors as outside was so crowded (and warm). Service was good and our meals were too, and very big - too much for me

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kiwiintheus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 October 2020 via mobile

Came in here with my husband for breakfast. Even though it was quite busy the service was great and done with a smile. The thick cut bacon was superb as we're the home-made baked beans.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Carmkol
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Butterfish also viewed

 
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Butterfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.