We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow wine and great elegant cusine”

Sage @ Paroa Bay Winery
Reserve a table
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $80
Description: We do not have to look far for inspiration at Sage, our restaurant at Paroa Bay Winery. From the end of the fishing line cast into the Bay of Islands to the orchard doors of our suppliers, our locally grown and sourced ingredients combine seamlessly into a refreshingly creative New Zealand take on Sustainable coastal cuisine. With a broad-ranging menu that features some of the freshest and most revered offerings from the ocean, and some of New Zealand’s world-renowned farming produce — our chefs work to strike the perfect balance between creative flair and allowing their ingredients to be savoured as they are. And with all dishes thoughtfully matched from wines directly from our very own cellar door, the culinary experience is full-circle. It is our considered and intuitive approach that pervades the restaurant at Sage, from the kitchen through the front of house.
Restaurant details
Description: We do not have to look far for inspiration at Sage, our restaurant at Paroa Bay Winery. From the end of the fishing line cast into the Bay of Islands to the orchard doors of our suppliers, our locally grown and sourced ingredients combine seamlessly into a refreshingly creative New Zealand take on Sustainable coastal cuisine. With a broad-ranging menu that features some of the freshest and most revered offerings from the ocean, and some of New Zealand’s world-renowned farming produce — our chefs work to strike the perfect balance between creative flair and allowing their ingredients to be savoured as they are. And with all dishes thoughtfully matched from wines directly from our very own cellar door, the culinary experience is full-circle. It is our considered and intuitive approach that pervades the restaurant at Sage, from the kitchen through the front of house.
Reviewed 29 April 2024

We returned to Sage and found it even better than the last visit. The wines are getting wow, the 21 Syrah, ( dark crimson, olives and blueberry with a peppery finish ) and 21 Chard ( beautiful struck match nose, peach , vanilla, citrus flavors ) . Wonderful service and fine dining as usual , love the mix of local and exotic flavors. Well done to everyone involved we will be back!

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2024

Yes, this is great fine dining, but we liked Terra in Paihia more, as there were just more flavors and combinations going on. We were staying in Paihia, so it was an adventure to get here, especially when weather is bad and the ferry isn't running. The wine pairings were really nice and service was friendly and attentive.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stork90
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 April 2024 via mobile

The venue is lovely - we had a nice table outside with a beautiful view overlooking the bay.
The food was impeccable, everyone (in our party of eight!) really enjoyed their meals; the crayfish was my personal choice and it was lovely.
There was a very good selection of reasonably priced wines available by the glass.
The desert menu is definitely worth a look (try the pancotta) .
The service was attentive and helpful and i thought the prices were very reasonable.

Great restaurant ; highly recommended; one of the best meals we have had in New Zealand!

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank Greg548
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2024

Beautiful spot - on the veranda which felt as though we were round a friend's for dinner. Deliciously fresh and locally sourced ingredients, lovely wine and cocktails. Best meal I've had in a long time.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank izzyross96
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2024 via mobile

My wife and I went to Sage for our 40th wedding anniversary while staying in Russell. A wonderful experience with excellent food , a beautiful view of forests and the ocean. The steak was the best I have ever eaten. Would recommend highly. We got reservations as it can get fairly busy. It was about a 20 minute drive from Russell.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank H7246HZdennisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Sage @ Paroa Bay Winery also viewed

 
Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Sage @ Paroa Bay Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.