We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
colin m
Paraparaumu, New Zealand

long weekend

Review of Castles Motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Oct 2019
good check in, a tired looking motel needing attention gardens also need attention, near Tahunanui beach also near by lots of take away food outlets considering the motel is situated on a state highway the sound of traffic was minimal fairly comfortable room.
i would stay here again
Date of stay: October 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$183
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $163
  • Agoda.com
    $154
  • Vio.com
    $163
2.8 km from Castles Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$230
  • Priceline
    $230
  • Hotels.com
    $255
  • Expedia.com
    $244
1.5 km from Castles Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$169
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $169
  • Agoda.com
    $159
  • Expedia.com
    $169
3.5 km from Castles Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$218
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $218
  • Agoda.com
    $178
  • Expedia.com
    $218
3.5 km from Castles Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$169
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $169
  • Agoda.com
    $165
  • Expedia.com
    $169
3.4 km from Castles Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$269
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $269
  • Vio.com
    $269
  • eDreams
    $269
3.6 km from Castles Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Unit Tea and Coffee facilitie
Booking.com
$130
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $145
  • Agoda.com
    $119
  • Expedia.com
    $132
2.5 km from Castles Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$216
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $216
  • Expedia.com
    $199
  • Hotels.com
    $215
2.8 km from Castles Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Saxton Lodge Exterior Garden
Booking.com
$183
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $183
  • Official Site
    $165
  • Priceline
    $183
5.3 km from Castles Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$162
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
1.8 km from Castles Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Nelson
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
29
17
8
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
29
17
8
1
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2019

My grown up family needed a place to bass ourselves for a long weekend in Nelson We booked 5 rooms of varying size as we ranged from singles to couples with children and every thing in between. Being picked up at the airport was a great bonus. The hosts are more than happy to perform a shuttle service. Our rooms were all large and well maintained. The Motel is a very handy location being close to food and drink outlets.I would be more than happy to return.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 July 2019 via mobile

Can’t believe I found this place by chance and how good it is

From the second I turned up I was taken good care of

Karmel is a great host and runs a lovely place

Spacious Clean Comfortable room

Close to beach, restaurants, bars and cafes

I’ll definitely be back here !!!

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank TravelSlowly68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2019

I have lived in flats smaller than this unit.
It was huge.
And it had such homely touches that made it quite hard to leave.
I've never stayed in a motel that had a TV, DVD player AND a stereo.
There was such a lovely lounge area with sofa and recliner chairs.
A roomy dining suite, fully equipped kitchen and good sized bathroom.
The shower had the most amazing water pressure I have ever encountered. I felt like I was in front of a water blaster, but boy did I feel great afterward.
The large bedroom had a twin spa bath set into a little alcove which was the icing on the cake.
Location was fantastic as well. Easy walks to a variety of eateries and the beach.
It is on a main thoroughfare but we didn't have any problem with road noise.

Room tip: room 11, huge and comfy.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank genieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 March 2019

Was pleasantly surprised with this place as it was well priced and in a great loaction. We had a fantastic room which had full cooking facilities although we didnt use them.Very comfortable bed but the only negative was that there was a lot of road noise so make sure you book a unit that is not by the main road

Room tip: Book away from the road as the noise was frustrating at times
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2019

We enjoyed our stay here even though the room was not what was advertised. We were put into the Garden part of the Motel which when we first saw it were disappointed however it was great being away from the main road and any noise. The location is wonderful and close to the beach and takeaways (as we had a teenager with us). The master bed was lovely and comfortable however the bed in the lounge is very wobbly and looks unstable. It was though comfortable. It's also great having a full kitchen.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ant and Toni v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews