We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top 20 meal eber”

The Tides Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #11 of 216 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

I have eaten all over the world and this place is the very definition of hidden gem. Incredible menu and top notch service

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Front Office Manager at The Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Hello Stephen,

We are very pleased we are ranked in your top 20 restaurants in the world. What an honor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

A very enjoyable full continental and cooked breakfast. A great price with voucher from our Delorenzo's accommodation.
Great friendly service.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank JulieBlenheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Front Office Manager at The Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Hello Julieblenheim,

Thank you very much for your review.

Kind regards

Trailways Hotel Nelson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018

We were staying at the Trailways Hotel in Nelson and decided to eat at their in house
restaurant, aptly named The Tides as it adjoins the Matai tidal river.

With no great expectations, we were promptly seated at our table by friendly staff, who quickly brought our drinks while we chose from their reasonably large dinner menu.

Our starters of scallops and prawns were soft and juicy, with an adequate serving for the two of us.

My wife ordered the pork belly and raved about the crackling, whilst I was tucking into one of the best ribeye steaks I have had recently.

Since we had enjoyed the mains so much, we decide to order a dessert (which we normally skip) and our choice of the apple crumble served with cream was delicious.

The staff was attentive throughout, serving my chosen wine without undue fuss although the waiter at our table was obviously a trainee.

Worth a visit if you are in those parts of the South Island.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank KSR153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Front Office Manager at The Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Hello KSR153,

Wow, what lovely comments. We are very pleased you had a fantastic dining experience with us.

Kind regards



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

What a lovely hotel, the staff were really friendly and helpful the room was good the shower was amazing. Location great. We had dinner in the restaurant one night I’d rate the food 3/5 I would defiantly recommend the hotel

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Jackie13w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Front Office Manager at The Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Hello Jackie12w,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

Kind regards

Trailways Hotel Nelson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

Wife picked this randomly. Man what a great restaurant, food was excellent, service excellent, view lovely. We just called in and got a table straight away. Definitely go back to this one again

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank garypF6927CL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Front Office Manager at The Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Hello Gary P,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very pleased that you chose to dine with us and we are looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tides Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Tides Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing