We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
cari4_10
Christchurch, New Zealand

Another great stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Feb 2021
We have recently enjoyed a two week stay here. Even with a change of ownership since our last visit a couple of years ago it was still the excellent place we remembered. We use an accessible unit each time and these are by far the best purpose built units we have stayed in through our many visits to Nelson over the years. It is our 'go to place' when we stay in Nelson now and we have had at least 5 long stay visits here. The new owners were very helpful and friendly and no doubt we will be returning in the future.
Date of stay: February 2021
Room Tip: Access rooms have the correct safety rails by the toilet/shower, seat in the shower, lower vanity...
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    $170
  • Hotels.com
3.1 km from Abelia Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $179
  • Hotels.com
3.8 km from Abelia Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$151
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $151
3.9 km from Abelia Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $192
  • Expedia.com
    $218
3.9 km from Abelia Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    $189
  • Hotels.com
3.7 km from Abelia Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Unit Tea and Coffee facilitie
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    $129
  • Hotels.com
2.7 km from Abelia Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $214
  • Hotels.com
3.0 km from Abelia Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Saxton Lodge Exterior Garden
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $183
  • Hotels.com
4.8 km from Abelia Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Palms
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    $188
  • Hotels.com
3.5 km from Abelia Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $319
  • Hotels.com
4.1 km from Abelia Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Nelson
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
42
22
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
42
22
3
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2020

We stayed here for two nights in mid-December. The room was comfy, and the heavy curtains kept the noise of the main road from reaching the room. The owners were friendly and welcoming. There is not much to do nearby, but with a car you can get quickly to places from here. A great place for a short stop around the Nelson area.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JoonasHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2019 via mobile

We stayed in a deluxe room with a large spa. The bathroom was quite big and the room was very large. Everything you needed was there. Lovely glassware...and large fridge. We slept with our windows open and the traffic noise didn't bother us. If the windows were closed it would be silent. we were very happy with the location. The owners were very welcoming and lovely to talk to. The king bed was very comfortable and we had great sleeps. The room was immaculate and exceptionally tidy and clean. We will be back and will highly recommend.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Debsy005
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AbeliaMotorLodge, Owner at Abelia Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2019

Thank you very much for this positive review. We are glad that we had made your stay a pleasant experience.
It would be nice to see again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018

This hotel is well run and a good value. Our room was very clean and well maintained, even though the neighborhood is a little run down. There are several decent restaurants within walking distance. A good value.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank davesT6873TU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Ok place to stay close to the airport, but quite a lot of noise from the traffic on the main road. Rooms are nice and clean. We had an appartment with 2 bedrooms, and it was nice and spacious. Good beds.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank RobertSR69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AbeliaMotorLodge, Owner at Abelia Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you liked our room.

Our window glass are special type and our curtains are heavy with 3 layers. All these are to minimize the traffic noise. I am sorry you still find the noise control was still not up to your
like.

It was very nice to meet you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

The rooms were spotlessly clean. The hosts were very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were very comfortable, with plenty of room for all. We had a quiet restful sleep. Really close to plenty of food outlets with a handy 24 dairy across the road.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theguy2ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AbeliaMotorLodge, Owner at Abelia Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thank you very much for the positive review. We are very pleased that you had a good stay with us. All the best for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews