We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Sails Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Century Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palms Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$115
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delorenzos Studio Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$77/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Trailways Hotel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$47
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Beaches Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Crest Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rutherford Hotel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$162
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
83
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasman baystunning viewsother guestsgreat hostshighly recommend this b bkaynz
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2017

My husband and I planned on visiting Nelson for a few days during our two week vacation driving around NZ and discovered this great place online before our trip. Luckily we were able to book it and enjoyed our stay very much. We would highly recommend this B&B.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bbutzi_192358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

We spent two nights with Kay and Joe and wished we had had more time. Our room had a private patio which gave us stunning views of Tasman Bay and the surrounding hills. The room was superbly equipped - the best shower, large fluffy towels, superb wifi, a great tea selection, home made muffins, great toiletries etc. Our hosts couldn't have been more welcoming - they are interesting and interested and incredibly helpful about planning trips etc. The food is sublime - the best granola ever and Kay is a brilliant chef creating delicious meals for dinner and breakfast and Joe's coffees are the best. I am usually a bit nervous about joining hosts and other guests around the dinner table but Kay and Joe create a warm, inclusive and relaxed atmosphere and so the experience was an absolute pleasure. I highly recommend this homely but professional boutique hotel/B&B.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Saracjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay W, Owner at A Culinary Experience Luxury B and B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We enjoyed meeting you both and hope you will return to New Zealand soon. Your kind words are really appreciated. We love doing dinner for our gusts as it gives us a chance to know you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

The hosts were amazing, the view from the room was awesome
The room was so tastefully done everything down till the bin in the bathroom was also so fantastic
The breakfast was to our demand as we are vegetarians
They went out of their way to do everything
Wonderful experience

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rituj2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Totally agree with the other rave reviews about this place - the views were outstanding and the property itself was intriguing....built on some pretty steep hillside and beautifully planted with everything from fruit trees to flower beds to flowering shrubs, with pathways leading to the chicken run and alpaca paddock. Kay and Joe are a delight, and the food...well all I can say is that it was irresistible, and my strong suggestion for future visitors would be to say YES! if you are offered the pancakes with bananas and fruit coulis for breakfast. We also had dinner on the first night - it was five courses of deliciousness. We were lucky enough to spend some time with two of the most adorable little dogs ever - thank you " Bijoux" and "Singe"-for keeping us entertained and enchanted. Slept like logs in a most comfortable bed, loved the fact that the ranch slider opened so wide in the hot summer temperatures.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jennifer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Every moment of the experience was amazing. The scenic location, views, food, suites, artwork, gardens and all the extras! This was truly a five star experience. Everywhere you turn, you find every detail was thought through to provide the most comfort and indulgence! I can't say enough about Kay & Joe's hospitality, friendliness and expert advice on things to see. Then there is the food...I wish I had that talent. So unique and so delicious! This is the only place to stay in Nelson! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyHouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay W, Owner at A Culinary Experience Luxury B and B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2016

Nancy, Thank you so much for your recent review. We enjoyed your stay with us and can't wait for your return. You were able to see Golden Bay, a couple of our great wineries, Abel Tasman Park,the World of Wearable Art and the newly remodelled Suter Art Gallery.

Nelson is in the heart of New Zealand and has a quaint village atmoshhere with beautiful beaches, great biking paths (including the Great Taste Trail), and fabulous restaurants. You still more things to explore! Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews