We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Bert E

NELSON ACCOMMODATION I NELSON, NEW ZEALAND

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
SUPERB STAY AT PALAZZO MOTOR INN FOR 3 NIGHTS. IT IS VERY CLOSE TO ALL AMENITIES BECAUSE IT IS CENTRALLY LOCATED IN NELSON, LIKEWISE, THE HOSTS ARE FANTASTIC & I WOULD RECOMMEND FOR VISITORS TO TRY & STAY IN THIS PLACE. THE PLACE IS CLOSED TO CITY CENTRE, RESTAURANTS, PLACE OF WORSHIP, ETC. THANKS.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: PLEASE TRY TO STAY IN THIS PLACE. THANKS !
Trip type: Travelled solo
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Reelick, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello 29berte, We are pleased that you enjoyed your 3 days with us in Nelson at Palazzo. Thank you for your wonderful review. Kind regards Max and Robyn.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$168
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $168
  • Hotels.com
    $160
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Palazzo Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$130
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $124
  • Expedia.com
    $130
0.9 km from Palazzo Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$162
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $162
  • ZenHotels.com
    $150
  • Hotels.com
    $159
0.2 km from Palazzo Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$177
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $177
  • Tripadvisor
    $177
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Palazzo Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$193
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $182
  • ZenHotels.com
    $169
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Palazzo Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$255
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $234
  • Expedia.com
    $255
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Palazzo Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Rutherford
$215
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $215
  • Agoda.com
    $209
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Palazzo Motor Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Studio Unit Tea and Coffee facilitie
$152
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $169
  • Agoda.com
    $132
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Palazzo Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Saxton Lodge Exterior Garden
$183
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    $165
  • Expedia.com
    $190
  • Priceline
7.6 km from Palazzo Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
loft apartment balcony
$162
  • Agoda.com
1.7 km from Palazzo Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Nelson
Reviews (1,012)
Filter reviews
1,012 results
Traveller rating
910
78
19
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
910
78
19
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews motor lodge presidential suite spa bath fudge new zealand main road place to stay abel tasman could not have been more helpful nespresso machine within easy walking distance centre of town little touches friendly owners full kitchen a great stay definitely stay here again
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,012 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a very enjoyable experience at this establishment. The staff was very accommodating and allowed me to check in early.

The room was exceptionally clean and well-organized, and the television provided a variety of movies for guests to enjoy.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannyd62016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Reelick, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Dannyd62016, Thank you for your support in posting a review to inform other travellers about us. We are pleased that we were able to help with an early check in. Kind regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2024

The Palazoo is a fantastic hotel. This was our fourth stay. We are normally in Nelson for a week at a time; so we spend a reasonable amount of time here.
I have stayed in several hotels in Nelson (and most are good). I have also been lucky enough to have traveled quite extensively for a living, staying in hotels as part of my job. The secret to a good hotel is not getting it right once, but getting it right consistently.
Max, Robyn, and their team get the small details right. The rooms are cleaned properly, well maintained and the service is at a very high level from all staff.
You won't get better, it's that simple.

Room tip: Brilliant location close to shopping restaurants and bars
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinH7039
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Reelick, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

WOW KevinH7039, Thanks so much for the fantastic review you recently posted about your stay with us in Nelson again. Its always a pleasure to welcome you back. Thank you for your support. Kind regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2024 via mobile

This was a really nice place to stay. Great location - walking distance to town centre, the supermarket and restaurants. It was also on the bus route. If you were travelling without a car you could catch an airport bus to town and then walk from there to the motor lodge - assuming your travelling with not too much luggage.
My room had a lovely interior - when i opened the door, i actually thought wow! It was welcoming and bigger than i expected - with separate bedroom and lounge. Compared to other places i have stayed, the kitchenette was well equipped with plenty of crockery and glassware. The room was very clean. My bed was super comfortable and warm. There was plenty of places to put my belongings. The room had blackout curtains. The only minor con, was my bedroom was by the road so there was some traffic noise. But this is Nelson, so it was not alot of noise. There were earplugs provided for those who might struggle. Heating was by a heatpump which kept the room warm and comfortable overnight. The bathroom had a spa bath - for those who love a long hot soak.
The staff or owner when I checked in and out, was super helpful and friendly.
Overall, I really like this lodge and would stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Mooh72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Reelick, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2024

Hello Mooh72, Thank you for the fantastic review and your support in letting other travellers know about us. We are pleased you enjoy your suite and all the features. Kind regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2024

I visit Nelson every 6 months for business and the Palazzo is my goto accommodation for every visit. Their standards in hospitality and cleanliness have never faltered across the past 6 years I've stayed there.
The rooms are immaculate, the bed a delight to sleep in, everything one would need in a home away from home and wonderful hosts.
Keep up the great work Max and Robyn, it is greatly appreciated.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Reelick, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2024

Hello R311FAstevens, It is always great to have you both with us when you come down to the South Island. We are pleased to be your home away from home. Thank you for the fantastic review and your support in letting other travellers know about us. Kind regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2024

We stayed here before and after walking the Abel Tasman. The motel is walking distance to town, supermarket, restaurants and market. The rooms are well equipped, clean and warm, the friendly and helpful assistance from Robyn was the icing on the cake! When we return to Nelson I would not stay anywhere else. A++

Room tip: Really comfortable beds!
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1tsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Reelick, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2024

Hello Itsme, It was our pleasure to have you with us on both occasions of your stay. Thank you for the fantastic review and your support in letting other travellers know about us. Kind regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews