We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
dgee2013
Hamilton, New Zealand

Super stay in the heart of Nelson

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Apr 2024
WE had two separate stays at this fabulous Motor lodge. So convenient to everything in the heart of Nelson. Very quiet rooms and every thing you need. Max and Robyn both super helpful with suggestions for eating out, places to visit and storing our luggage while we walked the Abel Tasman Track. Would love to come back sometime
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: The Nelson Market on a Saturday morning is well worth a visit
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Reelick, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 15 Apr 2024
Hello dgee2013. We are delighted to of had you stay with us either side of your Able Tasman trip. Nelson has so many fantastic places to experience, so it was our pleasure to help you find some of our favourites. We are looking forward to your next trip down South. We appreciate your support. Kind regards Max and Robyn.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$254
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $272
  • Hotels.com
    $271
0.2 km from Palazzo Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$168
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $165
  • Expedia.com
    $168
1.2 km from Palazzo Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$177
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $197
  • Hotels.com
    $197
1.6 km from Palazzo Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$130
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $122
  • Expedia.com
    $130
0.9 km from Palazzo Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$170
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $152
  • Expedia.com
    $167
0.2 km from Palazzo Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Rutherford
$215
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $212
  • Expedia.com
    $215
0.1 km from Palazzo Motor Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Studio Unit Tea and Coffee facilitie
$125
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $110
  • Expedia.com
    $128
0.6 km from Palazzo Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front of Motel
$150
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $126
  • Expedia.com
    $150
3.5 km from Palazzo Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Saxton Lodge Exterior Garden
$183
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    $165
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $183
7.6 km from Palazzo Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
loft apartment balcony
$160
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
1.7 km from Palazzo Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Nelson
Reviews (1,014)
Filter reviews
1,014 results
Traveller rating
912
78
19
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
912
78
19
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews motor lodge presidential suite spa bath fudge new zealand main road place to stay abel tasman could not have been more helpful nespresso machine within easy walking distance centre of town little touches friendly owners full kitchen a great stay definitely stay here again
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 1,014 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2024

Another fist rate stay. Room clean ,comfortable and quiet. Reception very helpful. Helped with knowledge of bike trails and stored my bike in their garage overnight. This motel deserves it's top motel status. I will be returning and recomend to others.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeadawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Reelick, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2024

Hello Leeadawn, Its always a pleasure to welcome our regular guests back time after time. Thank you for your kind words about your latest stay with us in Nelson. We appreciate your support. Kind regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2024

Originally booked by mistake, I called them thinking it was another place I had stayed at previously. However, upon arrival, they were so accommodating when I realized my error. We went for a quick drive to check the original place out, but returned to Palazzo because the room felt exceptionally clean and spacious. To our surprise, we ended up delighted to be there. It offers excellent value for money, with a clean, spacious bathroom featuring a spa, a comfortable bed, all necessary amenities, and a high level of privacy. We will definitely return.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Venture45308948505
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Reelick, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2024

Hello Venture4530898505, It was a pleasure to have you with us even through we started as a "Mistake". But we are pleased it turned out to be a Great Mistake :). We look forward to your next visit to "the city". We appreciate your support. Kind regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2024

A warm welcome on later arrival, truly comfortable and spacious room with all the required facilities even including filtered water. And 100% clean.
Easy walking distance to town plus easy on-site parking. I thoroughly recommend this motor lodge

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank LizzieRushton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Reelick, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2024

Hello LizzieRuston, It is great to become the local motel for the Nelson locals when you need to just leave home but not the area. It was our pleasure to become your new home away from home. Thank you for the great review. We appreciate your support. Kind regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2024 via mobile

Great location, spacious rooms with kitchenette and super friendly and helpful owners. Walking distance to lovely downtown Nelson, attractions, shopping, bars and restaurants. Owners could not have been more accommodating. Highly recommend Nelson and the Palazzo Motor Lodge!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank SandSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Reelick, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2024

Hello SandSS, Thank you for the great review. We do enjoy living in Nelson and always look forward to the feedback we get from the guests who have taken our tips to experience some of our favourite places. We appreciate your support, by letting other travellers know about us. Kind regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2024

Faultless! All the little extras that make it seem almost like home! Coffee machine with fresh milk. Big bathroom and spacious shower. Really nice decor. I travel a lot though NZ and this is as good as it gets for a motel. Looking forward to my next visit.
Lovely host too!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Roam13830481648
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Reelick, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2024

Hello Roam13830481648, WOW thanks for the fantastic review about your stay with us at Palazzo recently. We really appreciate your support. Kind regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews