We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$97
View deal
Expedia.comUS$110
PricelineUS$102
Hotels.comUS$110
FindHotelUS$103
TravelocityUS$110
Agoda.comUS$103
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (821)
Filter reviews
823 results
Traveller rating
723
76
19
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
723
76
19
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews motor lodge presidential suite spa bath new zealand south island main road place to stay abel tasman could not have been more helpful restaurants and shops close to town full kitchen within easy walking distance few minutes walk a great stay helpful hosts three nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 823 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The room was very roomy and had lovely finishes. Very comfortable chairs with an Ottaman for your feet. Had a coffee machine and very nice soap and shampoo in the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and a nice big bed. Parking was handy to room and plenty of space to get in and out. A fantastic room with all the extras. Would highly recommend this place.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cathis01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Max Reelick, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Cathis01, Thank you for posting a fantastic review about your recent stay with us in Nelson. We appreciate your support. Kind regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Happy to arrive here and find we were in the "Presidential suite"! A very spacious two bedroom apartment that suited our needs very well. Only two issues from my point of view: to me a "full kitchen" includes an oven, which it did not. We had come with food that needed cooking in an oven as that was how it was advertised. Also the dining table was very a very small round table out of scale with the size of the room.
Otherwise all positive - very comfortable beds, well equipped, nice outdoor area (which would be lovely in summer- bit cold this time of year!). And the best aspect of the stay was our friendly, helpful and accommodating hosts, who were clearly genuinely keen to make our stay in Nelson, and the motel, as pleasant as possibly. Would stay here again. Would rate 4.5 if that were possible.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DrPhilNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Max Reelick, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello DrPhilNZ, Thank you for taking the time to post a great review on your recent stay with us in Nelson. We are pleased to read you enjoyed many features of the suite you stayed in. Sorry you were missing a oven in your room. We do have an oven in our managers house you could have used. We have played around with the idea of changing the table to a bigger size, but decided that there was the long bench available as a different dining option. Kind regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2022

The staff were absolutely wonderful and were happy to accomodate an alternate room when I couldn’t sleep in a shared room with my friend. Lovely rooms and was super close to all the shops in city centre. Very much enjoyed my stay here and would suggest to others

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank jasminrH3326TI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Max Reelick, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2022

Hello Jasminr, Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review about your recent stay with us in Nelson. It was great to get to know you during our chats over the weekend. Glad we could help out and sorry we changed your room so many times, but we got there. Hope to see you again. Kind regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2022

The room was surgically clean and well appointed and had everything you could need for your stay. Extremely friendly and welcoming. Very close to supermarket and fast food. Bed was mega comfortable and despite being next to the road it is very quiet.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Kakahi-Station
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Max Reelick, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2022

Hello Kakahi-Station, WOW........ The staff where blown away when we printed off your review to show them. Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review about your recent stay with here in Nelson at Palazzo, we appreciate your support. Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2022

We live in Blenheim but my wife was having a foot operation in Nelson after which we knew she would be unable to walk and travel back home in the car. Our hosts for the night at Palazzo were helpful, friendly and understanding from the time I placed the original booking and throughout the duration of our stay. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
The ground floor, two-bedroom, "Presidential Suite" was of a very high standard with everything you could possibly wish for in terms of facilities, space and quality. Altogether a great experience.
As I quipped to our host as we were about to depart, I'm conflicted about whether to write such a glowing report as it will probably encourage others to stay, which in turn will make it harder for me to make a booking next time!

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Max Reelick, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2022

Hello GeoffPip, Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review about your recent stay with us at Palazzo in Nelson. It was our pleasure to have you both with us. Hopefully next time you come over, you both will be able to pack your dancing shoes. We appreciate your support. Kind regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews