We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$115
View deal
Expedia.com
US$112
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/10/21
FindHotel
US$94
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/10/21
Hotels.comUS$112
PricelineUS$105
CheapTicketsUS$112
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (776)
Filter reviews
776 results
Traveller rating
682
71
18
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
682
71
18
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews motor lodge spa bath presidential suite new zealand south island main road place to stay close to town could not have been more helpful restaurants and shops within easy walking distance abel tasman full kitchen central nelson a great stay few minutes walk definitely stay here again
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 776 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2021

amazing motel close to nelson city, it was very clean tidy and everything you could need.
the service is great and has plenty of parking right outside your rooms.
the TV in your room is ample big enough, coffee machine.

Date of stay: June 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B9700YNgregs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max Reelick, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2021

Many thanks for taking the time to write a positive review Greg. So glad you enjoyed yourself in Nelson. Hopefully we might see you back in Sunny Nelson soon. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2021

We arrived in Nelson late in the afternoon/early evening and went to our other motel we were booked into. I'm just going to say that it did not measure up to what we were sold and for the first time ever, we cancelled our booking and then had no idea where we were going to go. Looking online and talking to a friend who happened to be staying in Nelson at the same time, we were told to come to Palazzo as it was amazing! We thought it was more than we could afford, but Robyn greeted us, listened to our plight and with compassion offered us the last room in the place, with a discount! It turned a really horrible, stressful time into something beautiful. the room was awesome, very clean, modern, full of amenities and had a calm haven feel. I was grateful for the Nespresso coffee machine first off and appreciated the quality of the china, cutlery and glassware. Hubby loved having a dishwasher! We stayed two nights. Robyn and Max were friendly and helpful with directions on how to find places and just for a bit of banter. We needed a downstairs room and it was cosy, modern and warm. Far exceeded our expectations, especially after the shock of the previous place. The only thing I would change, is that it would have been nice to have a comfy chair or sofa and the mattress was larger than the bed, but it didn't detract from a wonderful stay. We will definitely come again and highly recommend. Thank you Max and Robyn for your help and hospitality, done your way. :)

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank juliekS9779VM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max Reelick, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2021

Hello Julie and Mike. Wow thank you both for the fantastic review. It was our pleasure to be here in your time of need. So glad you enjoyed the unit and chatting with us as much as we enjoyed getting to know you both. Kind regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2021

We recently stayed for 4 nights - Great location, rooms spotless, beds sooo comfortable and the hosts were exceptional. We have stayed in many motels over the years and this would be the best run motel we have stayed at anywhere in the world. The hosts have that great ability to be so friendly and knowledgeable about the area but also professional in so far as being friendly but not at all intrusive. While we only stayed 4 days we were made to feel so welcome and they almost seemed sad to see us leave. Location is also perfect - walking distance to all the good local restaurants. It was a special occasion for us - not that the hosts knew that - and we stayed in the main suite - lovely room with every amenity Highly recommended.

Room tip: Rooms at the back are best
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T8151GXgregs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max Reelick, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2021

Many thanks for such a in-depth review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us, and could get out and explore our beautiful little city. Really appreciate, you taking the time write a positive one. Hopefully , we might see you back.
Kind regards Max and Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2021 via mobile

Place is very flash to look at on arrival and that Carrys on into the rooms modern & clean
With added little extras that didn't go un noticed.
The room with spa bath is what U should be asking for !!
Best weekend away in ages

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max Reelick, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2021

Many thanks for the positive review. So glad you enjoyed staying with us, and really appreciate you taking the time to put a review in... Hope to see you back in Sunny Nelson soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2021

I travel for business every week. Palazzo has the most comfortable beds in all of NZ. The best sized TV in all of NZ. And they are always helpful with a friendly smile. They are number 1 in New Zealand for me.

Date of stay: June 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TonyFuller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max Reelick, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2021

Many thanks for your positive review Tony. Always a pleasure to have you stay with us.
Having regular guests, like yourself, is the most important outcome to our business philosophy.
Thank you for being part of our Palazzo Family. Kind regards Max and Robyn Reelick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews