We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
148
23
7
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
23
7
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews queen room the kitchen basement bar excellent central location great place to just relax great garden area stayed here place to stay lounge areas are bottom floor cosy lounge great kitchen female dorm homely feel trafalgar square new zealand travel plans
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights and 6 days; it definitely felt like home!

The inn is beautiful! It felt like a boutique hotel.

The owner and staff were warm, friendly and helpful. They gave us suggestions on where to eat and what to do. The owner helped me find a good massage place as I needed one when we got to Nelson.

We will definitely book this place again when we go back to Nelson!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Potski83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Found this hostel by recommendation, and this was really the most comfortable, home-like and efficient hostel I‘ve been in for years. Great room (4 pax mixed) with locker under the beds, nice and spacious kitchen with coffee and tea, breakfast bread, jam and milk; clean sanitary rooms, hot shower with sufficient water, and a very kind and down-to-earth owner. The attached photo from the living area captures the spirit well.
Would stay again any time and can only recommend this place!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank johndoeyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

This was our first experience of backpacker accommodation. It was a great experience. The facilities are spot on. The family room was large and immaculately clean. The bed was comfy with fresh crispy bedding. The lounge areas are great place to just relax .We chatted with the owner who is a lovely chap. His wife apparently should take credit for the interior design which is refreshingly modern with some lovely touches. Thanks so much

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Aab03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018 via mobile

Finally a backpackers that isn’t stuck in the 80s/90s era! This place was fantastic, fully equipped kitchen with great oven, fast wifi
Comfortable beds, lovely free breakfast, friendly staff, great location, good for longterm backpackers as well, so cosy and had a lovely home feel to it, stay here if your in Nelson!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank dels123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

I absolutely loved my stay here. The hostel itself is great, with hair dryers and straighteners for use in the bathroom, and lots of great lounge spaces. The kitchen has nice appliances and I really appreciated the oatmeal every morning.

The best part of this hostel was the staff and the bar downstairs. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, especially Wayne who gave us great recommendations on a mountain bike path and got us set up with free mountain bikes to take out for the day. The bar downstairs was also such a gem. The couple who own it were really fun to talk to and very personable. The food, beer, live music and good people really hit the spot!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank JenniferF4295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews