We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best Nelson retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
View from your deck at (y)our Nest in Cable Bay, Nelson.

See photos below.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from your deck at (y)our Nest in Cable Bay, Nelson.

See photos below.
View inside the bay, from your deck A view of the property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
View from your deck at (y)our Nest in Cable Bay, Nelson.

See photos below.
View inside the bay, from your deck
A view of the property
The View from your own private deck
Your Own lounge/dining area with a view!
Your Luxurious En-Suite Bathroom
View from your nest lookout
Relax and unwind in the nest lookout
Local wood pigeons
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Amin U
2 reviews
“Best Nelson retreat”
Reviewed 9 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We were impressed by the lovely hideout tucked far away from busy Nelson. The hosts are super friendly and always keen to help. Would definitely return again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2018
Thank you Amin for your kind review. We love to share our special spot and I'm pleased that a kereru visited you on the deck this morning, to feed on the Tree Lucerne. Cable Bay Nest is really only a 20 minute drive from Nelson !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickyhard...
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed 24 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We stayed here for one night as a break from the norm ,and what a lovely night we had .JIm and Ngaire where excellent hosts , just very lovely people .The accomodation is spotless and in a very beautiful spot with excellent tranquil views.We enjoyed the indulgent bath and slept very well.We where provided with a very tasty breakfast , could not find fault ,will certainly visit again but for longer next time

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2018
Thank you for your awesome review. It was great to meet you both and we do hope you will take up the offer to enjoy a kayak around the bays and up the river when the tides are higher and the sun is shining.
Also, thank you for leaving the chalet so "ship shape and Bristol fashion".
Vicky and K are highly recommended as guests.
Ngaire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangatafr...
Waikato Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Perfect, peaceful and picturesque”
Reviewed 14 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The accomodation was well thought out, of a high standard and warm and cosy for our mid-winter get away. Lovely views, walking distance to beaches, a beautiful location. Friendly hosts provided us with ample breakfast choices and tips of things to see and do. Highly recommend.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2018
Thanks Jane and David for your lovely review. It was our pleasure to have you staying in The Nest! Isn't Nelson an awesome place? We hope we'll see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUE D
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 20 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Cable Bay Nest is wonderful accommodation with great hosts. Ngaire and Jim really do make your stay very special, their Kiwi hospitality is very warm and friendly and they go out of their way to make your stay memorable. Immaculate, comfortable little cabin with luxury furniture and fittings, lovely continental breakfast before you set out on your daily adventure, private deck, huge bath tub to soak and enjoy the ambience and stunning views. They provide so many thoughtful little extras that just help to make the Nest feel like home. I wish we had stayed for much longer!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewardB...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A peaceful location and beautifully prepared accommodation”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My stay was exactly what I wanted as a single person looking to escape, unwind, relax and contemplate. The view was lovely, with the estuary changing with the tides and light.
Ngaire and Jim were considerate and gracious hosts, knowing when to provide privacy and when to engage with local information. The Nest is immaculately presented and perfectly positioned... leave the blinds and doors open and breath in the fresh air and listen to the birds in the gorgeous garden below.
Just what the soul desired.... Cable Bay and Nelson are fabulous.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and tranquility
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing