We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
57
44
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
44
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews helpful management one night stay south island studio room great hosts place to stay comfortable bed motel airport facilities spa tahunanui heating bedding kitchenette units luggage
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Friendly host. Near airport. A few Sky TV channels incl two sports channels. Price is practically budget by current standards but was better than budget.

To expand on that last point, here are some of the little things that Amber Court _did_ fully provide but I notice more and more at cheaper places are not provided or under-provided: Flannels (facecloths), Decent amount of tea bags etc, Decent amount of milk, and shampoo/conditioner. And the aforementioned Sky TV options.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn H, Owner at Amber Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thanks for your lovely comments and pointing these things out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Stayed at Amber Court for 5 nights recently & was very impressed! Spotlessly clean, spacious accommodation, serviced daily. A good range of room types from studio to a stand alone cottage that sleeps 6 - 7. Friendly, helpful management & staff. 5 minutes walk to a night n day store where you could pick up almost anything you needed. 20 minutes walk to the beach & buses stopped right outside the motel entrance, making getting around very easy. Would highly recommend this motel to anyone.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank gosanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn H, Owner at Amber Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Many Thanks for your lovely comments. We are very fortunate to have so many facilities close by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed in one bed studio, bathroom, lounge, room are all very spacious and clean. 5 mins to airport by taxi, very convenient. The owners are a couple and i would say they are the most friendly and interesting host i have met!!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Mei C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn H, Owner at Amber Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

We are glad the studio room was spacious and clean, we always pass this onto the housekeeping staff. Yes the convenience of having the airport just minutes from our door is a Big Plus for a lot of travellers. We appreciate your comments as we do try hard to be accommodating where and when we can. Look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Robyn & Keith took over the lease of this motel in October 2017 . The complex is appealing , the units are well furnished , the décor is attractive , the rooms are very comfortable , amenities were appreciated ,, the tariff is very reasonable , the area is quiet . Rooms are serviced each day . There is little noise from road traffic unlike other motels on the main road in close proximity . Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts during our 8 night stay

Room Tip: Each unit is a stand alone - no upstairs to cause noise so no suggested preference
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank samjayAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn H, Owner at Amber Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and do our best to accommodate your needs as required. We are happy that you found your room very comfortable and suitably furnished and appreciated your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

I have to be honest - I don't remember much about this place - we checked in after flights from Los Angeles.
What I do remember - the staff graciously allowed a rather early check in. We slept like rocks for about four hours, then met our friends for dinner, then back to bed and a very good night's sleep. We were off the next day for Franz Josef.
That said, I can say I do retain a very nice feeling towards the place; we were well taken care of when we were far from our best. If circumstances allow a return visit I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobK8666BF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn H, Owner at Amber Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Thanks for your kind words, only too pleased to accommodate. We're glad you were able to get a good rest before going out for dinner then onto Franz Josef the next day.
Look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews