We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$83
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$84
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$71
View deal
Priceline
Hotels.comUS$83
TravelocityUS$83
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveller rating
441
79
9
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
441
79
9
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews close to town motor lodge an easy walk spa bath a great place to stay enjoyed our stay great room main road friendly owners bedroom unit new owners stay there again excellent hosts busy road walking distance the kitchen home away from home
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 532 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2022

We had a wonderful stay for 5 nights in a lovely King Room upstairs with our dog. We were made to feel very welcome by Dean and Tomoko who always made themselves available if we needed them. A great spot so close to everything and with a special crepe cafe a few steps away. The shower was amazing every time! Thanks for a great stay. It was lovely to meet you all. We will be back.

Room tip: 2 b/room units have air-con, others a fan. Upstairs gets more sun.
Date of stay: January 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NickiJ125
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, Owner at Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2022

Kia ora Nicki, it was wonderful to meet you Sophie and Milton! Thanks for such a lovely review, not sure we deserve so much as we were just doing what any other kiwi would do, offer Family Hospitality, Manaakitanga.... We really enjoyed having you guys stay for the week. Mia has made a new friend as have we. We appreciate you enjoyed the locality and things to do, and our excellent water pressure too!! Thanks again, Nicki. Tomoko, Mia and Dean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2022 via mobile

Dean and Tomoko were fabulous hosts that have impeccable customer service skills. They have a great knowledge of the area & what it has to offer in the way of activities & hospitality. I got a 2 bedroom spa apartment for a family stay. The apartment was very clean & tidy & furnished to a very high standard. The housekeeping staff were very polite & accommodating as well. Locality is central and even better that it’s a pet friendly motel. Can’t wait for the 2 car charging station to be installed. Highly recommended & will stay again when we next visit Nelson A++.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank raymT6075DT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, Owner at Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2022

Kia ora Ray, thanks ever so much for kind review. Its great to have a guest that appreciates the locality, and amenities we try hard to provide here at Chelsea Park. The Housekeepers do an outstanding job so I will definitely let them know they are appreciated by our guests. Another service we try to provide is that of a Pet Friendly Motor Lodge. Ray, we're glad to have had you and your family come stay with us here in Sunny Nelson. Thanks again. Tomoko, Mia and Dean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2022 via mobile

Fantastic time. First impressions was great. Dean and Tomoko where very friendly, they had great knowledge of where to go and what to do. The room was very spacious and clean. Dean and Tomoko went over and above for us all. It was only a 5 minute walk to the centre of Town. Would definitely recommend this motel and we will definitely be back.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, Owner at Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Isn't it great to be able to walk to town and back again after a lovely dinner with friends? We are very fortunate to be able to offer accommodation to such wonderful guests. Tomoko, Mia and I hope to see you four again some time. Thanks Anita and Damian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2022

You were able to take your dog and pay a wee extra. Well worth to be with your fur baby. The owners Dean and Tomoko were great hosts very polite and caring towards their customers. Really close to take dog for a walk, close to CBD and recreational activities, totally loved staying at this property and definitely will return back, particularly when there are not many who will allow dogs to stay. A major PLUS. Eco friendly products available for personal use, kitchen with fridge to use and recycling bins for sustainability. Excellent stay

Date of stay: December 2021
Thank marieO7459MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, Owner at Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2022

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of Chelsea Park. It was a pleasure having such good folk as yourself stay with us. We are glad there is a place for family pets and that folks don't mind paying a little extra to have them stay with them rather in a kennel or with family. Town is close and the beach is not that far from us at all. We do hope you come back to Chelsea Park when next you venture to Sunny Nelson. Tomoko, Mia and Dean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2021 via mobile

Sometimes when you're travelling you happen upon a place that shines brighter than the rest. This was it!

Dean made us feel so welcome and nothing was a bother - even though we made it hard because we were travelling with pets!!!

The beds were comfy, it was close to town, there was parking right outside the room and there was no inter-room noise.

The complimentary toiletries were the best I have used in a motel - the fragrance was amazing!!

I can't finish up without mentioning Dean's cider... what a treat after a long day of travel.

You rock!!! Can't wait to come back

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank CJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, Owner at Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2022

Kia ora, thank you for an amazing review. Tomoko and I are so glad you enjoyed staying at Chelsea Park. We are new in the accommodation sphere but think we know how to make our guests feel welcome. We do receive positive feedback on our beds and the toiletries in our bathrooms. We are trying to be as sustainable as the former owners. It was rewarding to share a glass of my cider in our garage with you, as you looked like after such a hot day you needed something cold. I enjoy chatting about brewing beer with like minded folk. Thank you again and hope to see you again one day here with us. Tomoko, Mia and Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews