We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
6
14
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
14
2
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2017

Wanted a 3 day stay,arrived late,had to deal with manager over the phone,no human contact. Next day had an early start and really upset to find unit not serviced as was promised on our return early evening, no clean towels,no milk etc.
Some of the units had people "living"in them and were up and about until 1am and as there was no sound proofing could hear next unit.
Next morning manager dropped plastic bag with towels off at 8.30 ish but as the WIFI was non existent like the cleaner we had had enough and moved on.
Wouldn't recommend,units need updating,bathroom cramped.

Room tip: Possibly could negotiate a weekly rate to live there but you would need to do it all by phone....
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnvan2014, Owner at Urban Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry that you had a bad experience. The good news is that we have finally got Fibre installed and only 14 months later that expected! (sorry about the dig chorus, I know you guys are doing your best) We have just finished renovating the last 2 bedroom unit and installed a Gas, full pressure hot water system so all sorted there. We do try to be available 24/7 but we do need sleep too........ We have decided to employ night managers who are available to 9.30pm but yep if you arrive late you may be talking to someone on the phone or you can access your room via our lockbox. Our housekeepers try their best and sometimes they do slip up and do a service that should be a clean and vice versa but they are only human. We hope guests are considerate to other guests but we can't control what they do 24/7. We have our private cellphone number and can be contacted if needed after hours. We also have a Security Patrol that checks on the property around midnight. We hope the issues you had have been resolved and welcome feedback so we can improve what we offer. Many Thanks John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night here on our motorcycle tour of the South island. The apartment was very clean and well maintained, bed was large and comfortable and we were able to park right outside. Clever lockbox system meant checking in and out was very easy. Good location- we walked into town. Overal good value for money.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank iansC5720SQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Stayed here for an impromptu visit to Nelson. Received a text a couple of hours after booking to confirm that they had a room ready.
Check and out was done through key holders on the door as there was no one at reception (They did have a phone if you needed to contact them). The room was nice and clean and fairly large. Nice place to stay but about 15 minute walk from the city center.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Acineto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

As the motel had recently changed hands I rang to book accommodation as we have been caught out with places closing down. We were booked into a studio apartment for 2 nights. A few days before our arrival we received a text advising us about the keybox and the number for it. We hadn't realised that the new owners did not live on site, and we saw no staff during our stay. To contact them we had to phone them - I couldn't remember if I had already paid for the apartment, which I has to when I booked.
The apartment was quite small with bed, 2 easy chairs, and small kitchenette with breakfast bar in one room, and a bathroom. There was limited space to put bags and suitcases. OK for 2 nights only. In the kitchen there was exactly 2 of everything, so stiff bikkies if you wanted or needed 3 teaspoons or 3 glasses.
The compendium said the apartment would be serviced each day, but when we returned to it after a full day out, with a couple of friends who we had promised a cup of tea to, we found that it hadn't been serviced and the kitchen supplies hadn't been replenished. So we couldn't give our friends a cup of tea, as we hardly had enough for our breakfast the next morning, and could only offer a glass of water. A bit embarrassing.
The bed was comfortable and the room quite quiet considering the proximity to a main road, but light shone in the window above the door which I found disturbing. It is convenient to the centre of Nelson and was easy to find despite roadworks.
Not big car parking space, and quite tight to drive out.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Juliet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed for three nights on a side trip from Wellington and we were very impressed by the cleanliness of the accommodation, and the fact that the TV worked properly. Staff were very friendly and we had everything we needed and more. It's a pity this motel will be closing soon.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank AlamoCrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews