We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$418
Fully refundable before Wed, 28 Feb
Expedia.com
$424
Fully refundable before Sat, 2 Mar
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
$418
Fully refundable before Sat, 2 Mar
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,018)
Filter reviews
1,018 results
Traveller rating
911
98
6
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
911
98
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nespresso machine comfortable bed new zealand great shower guest laundry the kitchen trafalgar street one bedroom apartment the ground floor short stroll stayed here for nights a great place to stay city centre road noise an easy walk friendly hosts motel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 1,018 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2019

I knew the rooms which are really nice; but if you go take the one bedroom apartment; simply outstanding for the price...3 minute walk from central city; service is great; friendly and want to please; cleanliness is outstanding, even passed my dust test which hasn't happened elsewhere since I left the army 20+ odd years ago;

Well deserved 5 star rating; only wished other 5 stars I stay at were so affordable

Room tip: Take an apartment; cost for 5 star quality is less than 4 star rooms in other locations within NZ I commonly stay at
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark S, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to let others know about your stay with us at The Sails in Nelson. We are delighted that you found your suite to be so comfortable and you had an enjoyable time.Kind regards Mark & Cecilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2019

Have really enjoyed our stay here. The place is immaculate. Awesome location, just a short walk to town.couldnt ask for anything else. Would highly recommend this to anyone wanting a top place to stay.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ham200
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark S, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2019

Thank you for for staying and your kind words. We are delighted that you found your suite to be so comfortable and you had an enjoyable time Kind regards Mark & Cecilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2019

Excellent facilities, clean tidy staff and management are really cooperative and helpful with advice and assistance happy to recommend for business or a holiday. The location opposite the local sports ground is perfect for sports fans and being on the main street of Nelson means many facilities are within easy walking distance such as the best restaurants movie theatre etc.

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank Southpacific111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark S, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2019

It was a pleasure to receive your review about your stay with us here at The Sails. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay here. Thank you again for taking the time to write such a great review for us
Kind regards Mark and Cecilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2019 via mobile

A well thought out place with nice facilities and a very comfortable bed
A leisurely 5 minutes walking distance to central city.
Mini bar, great shower and a lovely friendly owner.
Some of the rooms are second floor do if you are challenged request ground floor
Decor is very appealing which makes for a comfortable and pleasant stay

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank J3390FZdavidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark S, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2019

Hello David, nice to meet you and your wife and thank you for your kind words. We are delighted that you found your suite to be so comfortable and you had an enjoyable time, hope to see you on your next trip.Kind regards Mark & Cecilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2019

Great location, the room was really well laid out, everything we needed of a short stay, very comfy bed, good coffee machine ,the bathroom was small but fine, the host was very informative and helpful. But and for us this is a big one, the road noise is unreal, we had a terrible sleep, the traffic is so load, It was so annoying, I would suggest the owners get triple glassing for units on the road side (which is most)

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark S, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2019

Hi Sharon,thank you for writing a wonderful review about your stay with us in Nelson at The Sails. We appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your experience. Kind Regards Mark & Cecilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews