We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day in Nelson!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Prince Albert Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Prince Albert Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great day in Nelson!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was in Nelson only for few hours and I decided to stay in this hostel. The staff is great, friendly and very helpful to plan your trip or things to do around! Rooms are clean and well furnished and there is a free breakfast!
well recommended!

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina_el
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    29
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
37
56
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to stay! The owners are lovely. Nothing is ever a problem, they are so helpful snd always happy and smiling. Really enjoyed staying here, spent a total of six nights over three weeks at the backpackers. The price is good, breakfast (included) is also good, a full kitchen has everything you need including a coffee plunger. The private room are comfortable and the backpackers is well located, 5 minute walk to the city. Would highly recommend staying here during your stay in Nelson, but book early! Rooms book out quickly, word is getting out how good this place is!

Stayed February 2017, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were there two times for only one night on the way to the able tasman track. We had a 2 Person-Room and it was clean and comfortable. You should try the Bar at the Hostel. The Burgers are very good! We would stay there again!

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Benaja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Prince Albert Backpackers was FANTASTIC! Amazing value - breakfast included, assistance with booking trips to Abel Tasman, local Nelson recommendations, and DELICIOUS $10 lunch/ dinner options for backpackers at the bar. Of the 4 hostels I stayed at on South Island New Zealand, PAB blew them all away in every category, but most significantly in service, hospitality, and amenities. Be sure to book early!!

Stayed February 2017, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Madison679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

A super sweet little backpacker. I only stayed here one night but it was one of (maybe THE) best backpack I've come across in New Zealand: super clean; small, personal rooms; a nice kitchen and GREAT lounge and patio to relax in with hammocks, and a pretty good breakfast included too. And a great location - it's closer to the center of town than I think it makes it seem! Definitely would stay here again.

Stayed January 2017, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank carmindelilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.0 km away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.0 km away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.8 km away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#6 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.2 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
1.1 km away
Tasman Bay Backpackers
Tasman Bay Backpackers
#2 of 43 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince Albert Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince Albert Backpackers

Property: The Prince Albert Backpackers
Address: 113 Nile Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Price range (per night): $54 - $91
Hotel Class:2 star — The Prince Albert Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince Albert Backpackers & Bar is centrally located in Nelson City. Our Heritage class building is located only minutes away from everything Nelson has to offer including mountain biking, hiking, natural swimming pools, arts and crafts and the famous Saturday Markets. The Prince Albert Backpackers and hostel provides today's travellers with the very best in modern facilities and accommodation including free unlimited WiFi and a free daily breakfast, while the locals bar and restaurant allows friendly interaction between the Nelsonites and the backpacker traveller.We have a range of rooms from 6 bed dorms, 4 bed share rooms, twins, and doubles. All of our rooms have en-suite facilities along with laundered and pressed linens and duvets. The backpackers uses a secure electronic keycard access system. Our guests also enjoy the exclusive use of a private sunny courtyard, private lounge, private kitchen and laundry facilities.Other facilities that you will find here at The Prince Albert Backpackers include a games room with Fussball, Darts, Ping Pong & Air Hockey, cruiser style bikes free of charge to explore Nelson and for the more adventurous individual we have quality mountain bikes for hire at the cheapest rate in town. With our free luggage storage you can also make The Prince Albert Backpackers your base-camp hostel to explore the 3 national parks within 1 1/2 hours from Nelson including the beautiful Abel Tasman and the alpine National Lakes.Factor in the discounts you will receive around town with our branded Prince Albert Backpackers wristband and we truly believe that once you have stayed with us you will seriously consider staying just that little bit longer... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au and HostelWorld so you can book your The Prince Albert Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing