We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Prince Albert Backpackers
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
147
33
7
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
33
7
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastcourtyard areabar attacheddrink specialsnew zealandbangers and mashmovie roomfree bike hireprivate roomperfect hostelback packersbed dormrooms are cleanenjoyed staying herethe kitchencommon areasexploring nelson
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

A super sweet little backpacker. I only stayed here one night but it was one of (maybe THE) best backpack I've come across in New Zealand: super clean; small, personal rooms; a nice kitchen and GREAT lounge and patio to relax in with hammocks, and a pretty good breakfast included too. And a great location - it's closer to the center of town than I think it makes it seem! Definitely would stay here again.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank carmindelilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

It's best hotel we've stayed at during our around NZ trip. Reasonable price, room with private bathroom looked great and clean, free bike hire, free and working wifi, game room, great breakfast for free, friendly staff, discounts at the bar, laundry, kitchen and TV room available, good location = GREAT STAY. I wish we could stayed longer

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mateusz Ż
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

My friend and I stayed over New Years in the Prince Albert in a four bed dorm. This backpacker is friendly, clean and has the feel of home away from home. Having the bar attached to the premises meant we could meet people and eat and drink with the friendly locals of Nelson. The breakfast was lovely, staff friendly and helpful and the location perfect.

Room Tip: The rooms on the floor level had hammocks out front and another available bathroom.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiTravlla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

This hostel has a great breakfast(waffles!!!!) and helpful staff. Good beds and the location is good. Really enjoyed my 3 nights here. Only minus is that you can't use the stove in the kitchen after 9pm. the dinners you buy in the bar are average, but cheap!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henriette Andre... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We stayed in a double room en suite. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom comparatively spacious and clean. Very good value for money. The location is decent, roughly 10-15 min walk to the city center. Nice common area and cool people to share a wine in the evening.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews