We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Prince Albert Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
Aloha Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sails Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$134
US$131
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Century Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delorenzos Studio Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rutherford Hotel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$192
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Harbourside Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tuscany Gardens Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
147
33
7
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
33
7
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastcourtyard areabar attacheddrink specialsnew zealandbangers and mashmovie roomfree bike hireprivate roomperfect hostelback packersbed dormrooms are cleanenjoyed staying herethe kitchencommon areasexploring nelson
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2017

It's best hotel we've stayed at during our around NZ trip. Reasonable price, room with private bathroom looked great and clean, free bike hire, free and working wifi, game room, great breakfast for free, friendly staff, discounts at the bar, laundry, kitchen and TV room available, good location = GREAT STAY. I wish we could stayed longer

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mateusz Ż
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

My friend and I stayed over New Years in the Prince Albert in a four bed dorm. This backpacker is friendly, clean and has the feel of home away from home. Having the bar attached to the premises meant we could meet people and eat and drink with the friendly locals of Nelson. The breakfast was lovely, staff friendly and helpful and the location perfect.

Room Tip: The rooms on the floor level had hammocks out front and another available bathroom.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiTravlla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

This hostel has a great breakfast(waffles!!!!) and helpful staff. Good beds and the location is good. Really enjoyed my 3 nights here. Only minus is that you can't use the stove in the kitchen after 9pm. the dinners you buy in the bar are average, but cheap!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henriette Andre... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We stayed in a double room en suite. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom comparatively spacious and clean. Very good value for money. The location is decent, roughly 10-15 min walk to the city center. Nice common area and cool people to share a wine in the evening.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights whilst exploring the area. Double room was spacious and had all the basics. Kitchen was small but had everything we needed and was well organised but to be honest we didn't use it much as we ate out most nights. We did make use of the $10 meal once which is so handy that I'm surprised anyone bothers to cook for themselves. Free wifi is a must nowadays so it's great they have it but ours didn't work in our room at all. We did tell the staff at least 3 times but it didn't improve, luckily being Kiwis we had our own data to use but could have been more of an issue for others? Free breakfast was awesome, we missed it a couple of days as we headed out earlier than the 8-9 slot but the waffles are an awesome idea! Overall a great stay in one of the best backpackers around - Mike was a superb host who even found me a local doctors I could visit when I was sick! Would definitely recommend a stay here if you're in Nelson.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews