We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful backpacker”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Prince Albert Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
“Wonderful backpacker”
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

A super sweet little backpacker. I only stayed here one night but it was one of (maybe THE) best backpack I've come across in New Zealand: super clean; small, personal rooms; a nice kitchen and GREAT lounge and patio to relax in with hammocks, and a pretty good breakfast included too. And a great location - it's closer to the center of town than I think it makes it seem! Definitely would stay here again.

Stayed January 2017, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank carmindelilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    29
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
40
57
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2017

It's best hotel we've stayed at during our around NZ trip. Reasonable price, room with private bathroom looked great and clean, free bike hire, free and working wifi, game room, great breakfast for free, friendly staff, discounts at the bar, laundry, kitchen and TV room available, good location = GREAT STAY. I wish we could stayed longer

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mateusz Ż
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2017

My friend and I stayed over New Years in the Prince Albert in a four bed dorm. This backpacker is friendly, clean and has the feel of home away from home. Having the bar attached to the premises meant we could meet people and eat and drink with the friendly locals of Nelson. The breakfast was lovely, staff friendly and helpful and the location perfect.

Room Tip: The rooms on the floor level had hammocks out front and another available bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTravlla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2017

This hostel has a great breakfast(waffles!!!!) and helpful staff. Good beds and the location is good. Really enjoyed my 3 nights here. Only minus is that you can't use the stove in the kitchen after 9pm. the dinners you buy in the bar are average, but cheap!

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henriette Andre... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We stayed in a double room en suite. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom comparatively spacious and clean. Very good value for money. The location is decent, roughly 10-15 min walk to the city center. Nice common area and cool people to share a wine in the evening.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.0 km away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
1.0 km away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#7 of 41 in Nelson
484 reviews
1.2 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
146 reviews
0.9 km away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#9 of 41 in Nelson
540 reviews
0.5 km away
INNBetween Lodge and Backpackers Nelson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince Albert Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince Albert Backpackers

Property: The Prince Albert Backpackers
Address: 113 Nile Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Price range (per night): $56 - $90
Hotel Class:2 star — The Prince Albert Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince Albert Backpackers & Bar is centrally located in Nelson City. Our Heritage class building is located only minutes away from everything Nelson has to offer including mountain biking, hiking, natural swimming pools, arts and crafts and the famous Saturday Markets. The Prince Albert Backpackers and hostel provides today's travellers with the very best in modern facilities and accommodation including free unlimited WiFi and a free daily breakfast, while the locals bar and restaurant allows friendly interaction between the Nelsonites and the backpacker traveller.We have a range of rooms from 6 bed dorms, 4 bed share rooms, twins, and doubles. All of our rooms have en-suite facilities along with laundered and pressed linens and duvets. The backpackers uses a secure electronic keycard access system. Our guests also enjoy the exclusive use of a private sunny courtyard, private lounge, private kitchen and laundry facilities.Other facilities that you will find here at The Prince Albert Backpackers include a games room with Fussball, Darts, Ping Pong & Air Hockey, cruiser style bikes free of charge to explore Nelson and for the more adventurous individual we have quality mountain bikes for hire at the cheapest rate in town. With our free luggage storage you can also make The Prince Albert Backpackers your base-camp hostel to explore the 3 national parks within 1 1/2 hours from Nelson including the beautiful Abel Tasman and the alpine National Lakes.Factor in the discounts you will receive around town with our branded Prince Albert Backpackers wristband and we truly believe that once you have stayed with us you will seriously consider staying just that little bit longer... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Prince Albert Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing