We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay- would definitely come again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Prince Albert Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Prince Albert Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful place to stay- would definitely come again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2016

We stayed here for our NZSS girls football tournament week with a team of 16 girls and 4 adults. It was awesome! Beautiful clean rooms, comfortable beds. Lovely onsuites in each room, well appointed kitchen, breakfast (including yummy cook your own waffles) provided every morning and friendly, helpful staff.
We loved it and highly recommend to all

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    29
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
37
56
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Very friendly, helpful staff, very clean room/dorm (the most comfortable mattress ever!!!!), and literally the best wifi I've had in Australia/New Zealand. Whoo! I really liked this place :). Would recommend.

Stayed September 2016, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Hostelexperience2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Clean! Social atmosphere, conducive to meeting new people. Exceptional and accommodating service -- Mike and Nani are friendly, personable, knowledgable, and honest. Also highly recommend the in-house restaurant; both service and food were excellent.

Stayed August 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

Amazingly friendly place and people. The staff are helpful and talkative. The rooms are well heated, clean and very spacious. The free breakfast is good and the $10 meal in the evening is more than worth the money.

Stayed July 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shauna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2016 via mobile

Prince Albert Backpacker's has it all, amazing outdoor and indoor lounge areas, spacious rooms, fast WIFI, a pub style bar on site, breakfast, and amazing staff. The only down side is the kitchen is a bit small, in saying this they offer fantastic dinner deals at the pub that more then make up for the small kitchen. I wish I had been able to spend more nights here.

Stayed March 2016
Helpful?
Thank I_Test44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.0 km away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
1.0 km away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.8 km away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#6 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.2 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
1.1 km away
Tasman Bay Backpackers
Tasman Bay Backpackers
#1 of 43 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince Albert Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince Albert Backpackers

Property: The Prince Albert Backpackers
Address: 113 Nile Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Price range (per night): $54 - $91
Hotel Class:2 star — The Prince Albert Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince Albert Backpackers & Bar is centrally located in Nelson City. Our Heritage class building is located only minutes away from everything Nelson has to offer including mountain biking, hiking, natural swimming pools, arts and crafts and the famous Saturday Markets. The Prince Albert Backpackers and hostel provides today's travellers with the very best in modern facilities and accommodation including free unlimited WiFi and a free daily breakfast, while the locals bar and restaurant allows friendly interaction between the Nelsonites and the backpacker traveller.We have a range of rooms from 6 bed dorms, 4 bed share rooms, twins, and doubles. All of our rooms have en-suite facilities along with laundered and pressed linens and duvets. The backpackers uses a secure electronic keycard access system. Our guests also enjoy the exclusive use of a private sunny courtyard, private lounge, private kitchen and laundry facilities.Other facilities that you will find here at The Prince Albert Backpackers include a games room with Fussball, Darts, Ping Pong & Air Hockey, cruiser style bikes free of charge to explore Nelson and for the more adventurous individual we have quality mountain bikes for hire at the cheapest rate in town. With our free luggage storage you can also make The Prince Albert Backpackers your base-camp hostel to explore the 3 national parks within 1 1/2 hours from Nelson including the beautiful Abel Tasman and the alpine National Lakes.Factor in the discounts you will receive around town with our branded Prince Albert Backpackers wristband and we truly believe that once you have stayed with us you will seriously consider staying just that little bit longer... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Prince Albert Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing