We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Prince Albert Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Curitiba, PR
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
Reviewed 7 February 2016

We were four friends travelling and we got an ensuite room for us. It was really clean and comfy. We were really wellcomed by the owner and he was all the time worried if everything was ok with us. The breakfast was really nice and organised.
I will definetely recommend this place for other friends.

Room Tip: We have stayed in a room with direct access to a patio. We had a nice veranda and hammocks around. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heu_Filiaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    29
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
40
57
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2016 via mobile

Spent three nights in private room. Friendly welcome on arrival by the owner who also suggested a few things that we could do whilst in Nelson. This was very helpful as neither my partner or I had been before.
Good free breakfast and good deals on food and drink available in bar downstairs.
Excellent location for walking into town.
Would recommend.

Stayed February 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ashling30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2016

The hostel is close to the town centre, but still quite peaceful. The rooms are large and clean, with comfy beds. The backpackers has seperate areas, outdoor and indoor, for guests. The breakfast was plentiful, and the deals for the pub meals and drink was generous. A great place to meet people and explore Nelson.

  • Stayed January 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

I am sure that you will find things wrong with this hostel but you will at any accommodation unless it's 5 star. I thought it was perfect! The people is a pub onsite with cheap drinks and cheap food, the kitchen was well equipped, the beds were sturdy and comfortable (to many hostels have I thought the bed was going to fall apart if I moved) the place was spotless and most of all the staff are fantastic. The owners will happily sort you out should you need help including a lift to the station etc. I can only recommend that you stay here as long as you can. Best hostel of my whole trip!

Stayed January 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2016

Very clean and comfortable. Great location. Nice bar, breakfast and outdoor seating area. Friendly and helpful staff. The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. This is one of the top backpackers in NZ. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.0 km away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
1.0 km away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#7 of 41 in Nelson
484 reviews
1.2 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
146 reviews
0.9 km away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#9 of 41 in Nelson
540 reviews
0.5 km away
INNBetween Lodge and Backpackers Nelson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince Albert Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince Albert Backpackers

Property: The Prince Albert Backpackers
Address: 113 Nile Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Price range (per night): $56 - $90
Hotel Class:2 star — The Prince Albert Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince Albert Backpackers & Bar is centrally located in Nelson City. Our Heritage class building is located only minutes away from everything Nelson has to offer including mountain biking, hiking, natural swimming pools, arts and crafts and the famous Saturday Markets. The Prince Albert Backpackers and hostel provides today's travellers with the very best in modern facilities and accommodation including free unlimited WiFi and a free daily breakfast, while the locals bar and restaurant allows friendly interaction between the Nelsonites and the backpacker traveller.We have a range of rooms from 6 bed dorms, 4 bed share rooms, twins, and doubles. All of our rooms have en-suite facilities along with laundered and pressed linens and duvets. The backpackers uses a secure electronic keycard access system. Our guests also enjoy the exclusive use of a private sunny courtyard, private lounge, private kitchen and laundry facilities.Other facilities that you will find here at The Prince Albert Backpackers include a games room with Fussball, Darts, Ping Pong & Air Hockey, cruiser style bikes free of charge to explore Nelson and for the more adventurous individual we have quality mountain bikes for hire at the cheapest rate in town. With our free luggage storage you can also make The Prince Albert Backpackers your base-camp hostel to explore the 3 national parks within 1 1/2 hours from Nelson including the beautiful Abel Tasman and the alpine National Lakes.Factor in the discounts you will receive around town with our branded Prince Albert Backpackers wristband and we truly believe that once you have stayed with us you will seriously consider staying just that little bit longer... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Prince Albert Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing