We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$156
Fully refundable before Fri, 24 May
Expedia.com
$156
Fully refundable before Sat, 25 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$125
Fully refundable before Fri, 24 May
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Liv
Wellington, New Zealand

Probably a flash hotel back in the day!

Review of The Beachcomber
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Mar 2024
My husband, seven year old daughter and I enjoyed a one night stay here.

The staff are pleasant and helpful. We stayed in a large studio.

The room was clean, but very dated. The hotel had poor pressure and was hard to get got enough.

There was a fridge and toaster in room which was helpful. There is only one sink in the bathroom so we were given a bucket to wash dishes up in which was different and not easy.

My husband and daughter enjoyed the view.

The restaurant is closed here. We had a nice pub lunch next door and when wanted a light dinner headed to Subway which was walking distance.

This hotel gives the vibe that it was flash a while ago, but now pretty average. Was good for a one night family stay.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Beachcomber Hotel, Owner at The Beachcomber, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to give your feedback, it is much appreciated. We welcome the opportunity to address areas of improvement from our guests perspective and enjoy hearing how each stay went. We hope you and your family had a nice time, and wish you all the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$173
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    $155
  • Agoda.com
    $151
  • Hotels.com
    $153
2.8 km from The Beachcomber
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Unit Tea and Coffee facilitie
Booking.com
$144
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $143
  • Agoda.com
    $129
  • Expedia.com
    $139
2.6 km from The Beachcomber
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$218
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $218
  • Agoda.com
    $176
  • Hotels.com
    $218
3.4 km from The Beachcomber
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$120
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $120
  • Hotels.com
    $120
  • Vio.com
    $120
3.3 km from The Beachcomber
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $157
  • Hotels.com
    $150
  • Agoda.com
    $150
3.5 km from The Beachcomber
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$126
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $126
  • Expedia.com
    $126
  • Agoda.com
    $129
3.4 km from The Beachcomber
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$170
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $167
  • Agoda.com
    $153
  • Expedia.com
    $160
2.8 km from The Beachcomber
Free Wifi
Free parking
Palms
Booking.com
$180
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $180
  • Agoda.com
    $158
  • Hotels.com
    $180
3.1 km from The Beachcomber
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$160
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
1.7 km from The Beachcomber
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$355
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $355
  • Agoda.com
    $271
  • Expedia.com
    $355
3.7 km from The Beachcomber
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Nelson
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
19
23
9
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
19
23
9
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shower water pressure tahunanui beach swimming pool short walk to the beach perfect location rooms are spacious central nelson walking distance new zealand
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2024 via mobile

A very comfortable hotel just across the road from the beach .Room was well equipped, bed was comfy ,good housekeeping. We were though on the second floor .I don't think I would have wanted to be on the ground floor .
The hotel is a short car drive out of the town centre .But there are a couple of very good pub restaurants close by .

Room tip: Must be on the second floor
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank alistairb1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Beachcomber Hotel, Owner at The Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

HI there, thank you very much for your review, I'm sure all future guests at our hotel would find this feedback helpful. We hope you had a great time on your stay, and hope to see you again. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2024 via mobile

When I book a hotel I have expectations.
Is it
- Clean
-Tidy
-Priced reasonably
- Location
And yes it met all expectations. Little disappointed that the restaurant isn’t up and running but plenty of places in walking distance. For what I paid I can’t complain… perhaps a bigger shower but that’s just being picky..

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 209kerryr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Beachcomber Hotel, Owner at The Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Kerry, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, it is much appreciated. We are so pleased you enjoyed the premium room for your stay. We hope you had a nice time in the area, and that will you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2024

Well positioned motel, close to beach and off the main road. The deluxe apartments have air con, well worth the extra cost. Apartment furnished adequately though all doors need rehanging as difficult to open/close. Kitchen and bathroom cabinets tired need new doors. Kitchen has all facilities needed to self cater and furniture comfortable. Note apartment had a sauna though not tried out. Curtains need some new hooks as well. Room okay 3 star and reasonable value for money, air con made the difference for us. Staff helpful and on site washing machine foc with industrial tumble drier, $2 a load

Room tip: Get the accomodation with air con
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NZtrip2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Beachcomber Hotel, Owner at The Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, thank you very much for providing this very helpful feedback. We are glad you got to try one of our deluxe suits, which we are aware are ready for some upgrades but for the most part are a lot of fun to stay in. We certainly hope you had a great time on your stay. All the best, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2023 via mobile

I don't normally write reviews but I saw the lead review for the Deluxe Room and had to respond. Unfortunately, the property certainly does not live up to that review. We stayed here last week for two nights. If we hadn't organised a full day trip we would've moved.
The kitchenette is dated and the units are scraped and bashed.
The bathroom is awful. Nothing has been done since the 70s I expect. The cold bath tap doesn't work. The jets and spa set up haven't been used in years and are broken. There's a piece of paper Sellotaped to the tiles reading 'spa temporarily out of use'. The shower curtain was disgusting. Surely, that could be replaced in minutes?
Many of the single glazed units don't open. It was boiling when we returned from our trip. There are only electric heaters if the weather is cold. Clean sheets and towels. For reference to UK customers this is 2* at best and I'm being generous. Way past it's time for a total refurbishment.

Room tip: Avoid at all costs
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank W6102WEirenem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Beachcomber Hotel, Owner at The Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there, thank you for providing this feedback, it was greatly appreciated how you brought these issues to our attention so we were able to address them. We always welcome direction from guests on areas from improvement and yours was very helpful. We hope you had a lovely summer, and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2023

I stayed at this lovely hotel as part of a self-guided motorcycle tour that was organized by a motorcycle tour company. I really enjoyed my stay in Nelson and was impressed with the Beachcomber and the friendly and helpful people I met at the front desk. I was also intrigued by the well maintained grounds and architecture of the hotel. I happened to leave my watch on a windowsill as it is solar powered and must occasionally be charged. It was just an inexpensive Casio that I use when I'm travelling but it certainly has sentimental value to me. I've taken it to Europe, Japan, India, Maldives, Qatar, Australia, and now New Zealand. It was so very kind of hotel staff to find my watch and, on their own initiative, mail it to a forward destination in Auckland for me to retrieve. It was and is truly appreciated.

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank allanfW3019VU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews