We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$102
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/04/21
Priceline
US$102
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/04/21
Trip.com
US$100
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/04/21
Expedia.comUS$102
Hotels.comUS$102
eDreamsUS$102
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
14
16
7
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
14
16
7
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great nights sleep standard room would stay again tahuna beach perfect location swimming pool sky tv great place to stay unit bathroom spa upstairs accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2020

Stayed at the Beachcomber for 2 nights in an organized tour. It was the worse motel we've stayed on this trip:
1) only continental breakfast where ALL the motels we've stayed have hot breakfast
2) I took a cup of coffee from breakfast to my room and the following day after checked out, the restaurant staff asked me to return the coffee cup. Are you kidding me?
3) no waste bin in the bathroom where ALL the motels we've stayed had a bin in the bathroom
4) room not properly cleaned, layer of dust on the chairs and small round table, the cups have stains on the inside, bathroom had hair on the floor

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hippobean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
receptionteam123, Receptionist at The Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2020

Thank you for your feedback. We understand from the comments that you were here with a tour group travelling throughout New Zealand.

Based on that assumption, pertaining the breakfast the tour operator has only contracted to book continental breakfast option with us, and this provided by the restaurant onsite, which is operated separately from us. We will be discussing with the restaurant your feedback.

We take responsibility re the state of your room and sincerely apologise. We have high standards and appreciate you taking the time to advise the specifics that occurred during your stay. During this lock down we are going through each unit to spring clean (abiding by all governing laws) to ensure we meet these standards.

We hope wherever you are in the world right now you and your family are well and safe. Thank you again for visiting our country we appreciate your custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2020

We are a local Nelson couple who were looking for a three day break away from the busyness of running a farm. We needed to choose somewhere close by so that my husband could pop home and shift the irrigator each day. We chose to stay at The Beachcomber because of its great location, restaurants available, the heated pool and of course to experience the amazing walks a few minutes away on Tahuna Beach.

We chose to stay in the deluxe one bedroom villa and found ourselves upstairs in an amazing villa with excellent views most of the way around. The bed was incredibly comfortable for great nights sleep and the bathroom also included a spa and sauna with excellent water pressure.

We felt very welcomed by the management and staff who were willing to share their local knowledge and recommendations for eating and activities. They specifically asked if we had any feedback or recommendations for their room which shows their dedication to serving the customer to a high standard and their commitment to offering a quality product. We have no hesitation in recommending this place is an awesome option for your stay in Nelson and certainly look forward to returning again for our next break in the future.

Thank you to the owners and staff for a great stay.

Room tip: Delux 1 bedroom villa has fantastic views
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 253suzannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
receptionteam123, Receptionist at The Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2020

Thank you for the lovely feedback. We were so glad you could fit the time to have a break. We really enjoyed hosting you both and hope when you have the opportunity you will return.

We wish you all the best and hope you and your family are keeping well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2020

This is a good place to stay, location is great within walking distance of the beach and a variety of pubs cafes and fast food outlets. Our room while descibed as a studio was very spacious and clean. Nice comfortable bed ,great nights sleep.
This is a large complex which is obviously well managed for despite being fully occupied it was very quiet.Good ensuite with plentiful hot water.
Would we stay again ,sure will.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bugsey23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
receptionteam123, Receptionist at The Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2020

Thank you for your great feedback. We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Take care,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2020

The Beachcomber has it all! Great staff, great rooms, bar, restaurant, swimming pool and its less than 5 minutes walk to the beach with restaurants and bars within walking distance It served the purpose for our 37 year reunion and we will come back soon for another crack at the restaurants in Nelson. There are 2 items that need to be addressed and apart from those its the place to stay!
Shower water pressure and air conditioning . But that said it won't stop us staying there again, I will just bring my own fan next time its got more grunt! P.S. I think I commented on the water pressure when I stayed there in 1996. Happy days!

Room tip: Stay away from the pool it can get a bit busy!
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kiwi353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
receptionteam123, Receptionist at The Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2020

Thank you for your feedback. We can't wait to host you again and so glad you could travel for a great occasion.

Appreciate the feedback pertaining the air conditioning and water pressure. We do have some units with air conditioning but it is limited. Unfortunately it is an old building and some of these aspects such as water pressure and where an install air conditioning units is a bit restricted but will investigate it while in lock down to see what can be done.

We hope to see you again when safe to travel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2020 via mobile

Decided to change from staying in town and tried The Beachcomber located across the park from the beach.
Nice quiet spot and lovely to walk on the beach early in the morning.
Ended up staying in the motel next door which must be a sister motel to the Beachcomber.
Room was adequate just no air conditioning so slept with the windows open and had to use one of those little portable fans.
There is a restaurant on site but I preferred to go to the pub down the road.
Nice to stay here instead of town and would stay again.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 67TravelBug67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
receptionteam123, Receptionist at The Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2020

Thank you for your feedback. It was great you got a taste of the Nelson CBD and us in Tahuna, we aren't far away but does feel a world apart sometimes with the lovely beach at our doorstep.

We only have a limited number of units with air conditioning, but glad you made use of the fan. The property you stayed in is a recent additional to expand our complex and will be making it more cohesive in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews