We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
56
57
25
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
57
25
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the kitchen budget accommodation female dorm communal areas the staff was friendly and helpful purpose built free wifi private room bus station central location beds were comfortable stayed one night town centre abel tasman hostel facilities sauna
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

End up going there because my other hostel was full. Great place. Staff is lovely and it’s close to everything you need in town to prepare the next tramp. Lockers were you can leave some stuff if you don’t have a place to store during your tramp. Will go back if I have to go to Nelson. Thanks

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Jean-Francois D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royce L, Manager at YHA Nelson by Accents, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Dear Jean-Francis,
Thank you again for taking time to post a review of your stay with us.
Our team always try to help our guests have a nice time while they are in Nelson whether it is their first, second or 10th visit!
We do hope to see you back here with us again one day soon.
Best wishes and safe travels,
Royce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

I stayed twice. Once in a private room and once in a shared room.
The building is well located in the town centre and close to the bus station.
All the receptionists smile and are helpful.
The place is modern and clean.
A nice touch is they get free fresh bread delivered daily.
There is a small outside sunny garden to sit outside in.
The kitchen, dining, relaxing areas are large enough.
The staff are very helpful with info on local events and things to do.
This is a happy place to stay.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank graculas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royce L, Manager at YHA Nelson by Accents, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

It was nice to have you stay with us recently and thank you for taking time to post a review.

I will pass you kind words on to our hard working team who do try hard to help where they can.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your New Zealand travels and will come back to see us again if you are visiting Nelson.

Best regards and safe travels,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

The Yha Nelson by accents is one of the better YHA hostels. The room was big, beds were comfortable, two kitchens and a big lounge/games/TV room. The staff was friendly and helpful and they offered free bread for all guests which was a nice bonus.
The only thing I didn't like was that you had to leave at 11 am after checkout. It is not.possible to spend more time in the hostel to wait for your bus for example. That was a first for me. But if that doesn't bother or affect you, definitely stay there while you're in Nelson.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Natasha0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royce L, Manager at YHA Nelson by Accents, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hi Natasha,
Thank you for choosing our hostel while you were in Nelson and for taking time to post a review.
Everyone enjoys our morning Bread Basket, even for Lunch some days.
There are some Guest areas of the hostel that checked out guests can't return after 11.00am, but we do have a large Lounge and TV Room on the Ground floor, that departing guests can use during the day if they are waiting.
We hope you enjoy your remaining time in New Zealand.
Best wishes and safe travels,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

We stayed in an en suite double room. This was a really nice comfortable room. The kitchen and facilities were very good and well kept. A bonus was the provision of locally baked bread in the kitchen. This was nice and varied each day. Clean, comfortable, well located and good value. Staff were helpful also.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

Probably the worst YHA I’ve stayed in. We enjoyed the location, free bread and tv room/chill area. But there were a lot of screaming children, which you don’t expect in a hostel.. Outdated, not really enough bathrooms, wifi isn’t great and doesn’t work in rooms. No lights by beds in the 8 bed dorm, which meant people got funny about the light or using a torch to find things past 9pm. The lockers in the room are really tiny so the room is a complete mess of everyone’s stuff. The kitchen is closed at times when you want to use it ie breakfast or if you arrive a bit late and want dinner. Morning staff rushed us to leave and claimed there was no space in the luggage room, even though we could see plenty. He told us to use a locker but there were none that fit bigger than a handbag. We decided to leave and it wasn’t until probably over hearing us talk about a review, that it was suddenly ok for us to put our luggage in the storage? We thought he was being off with us as we checked out a few minutes late, but he was being odd with everyone. The evening guy was very friendly and helpful however. Ok for a cheap night but you can find much nicer, cosier hostels in Nelson

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank allthathappens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews